skip navigation
George Reeves

George Reeves

Up
Down

| VIEW ALL

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

FAN COMMENTS

See Detailed Ratings
    Overall
    Range
    Sex appeal
    Influence/legacy
    Well-Regarded in Private Life
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Comedic Ability
    Singing Ability (If applicable)
    Dancing Ability (If applicable)
    Risk-taker or Innovator
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • filmography of Reeves

    • john winfrey
    • 2017-12-23

    He was also in the Fighting 69th 1940 with Cagney, uncredited but in many scenes. And in the short Ride Cowboy Ride

  • omission on Reeves filmography

    • John Winfrey
    • 2016-09-13

    You do not have "The Fighting 69th" listed on his filmography. He is uncredited in the cast, but has several scenes in the movie from 1940.

  • George Reeves

    • JoS
    • 2013-02-13

    A wonderful actor and human being who was a role model to countless children, myself included, who tuned into the Adventures of Superman TV show. He will be forever remembered as THE Superman. All the rest are pretenders to the big red "S."

  • A super man in every sense

    • Mr. Blandings
    • 2011-08-29

    Handsome, charming, witty, generous ... the list could go on and on. George could have been one of the biggest stars in Hollywood with his talent and good looks. Claudette Colbert asked for him to be her leading man in "So Proudly We Hail" after seeing him act just once, and it takes talent to recognize talent. But fate had chosen George for a bigger role -- that of Superman, the most recognizable character in the entire world. And with that responsibility came the adulation of children and adults all over the planet and for all time. His death at such a relatively young age and in such a way was sad but what makes it tragic is that the man who stood for truth and justice wasn't given that by the law or the public, who generally believe he committed suicide when all the facts point to obvious murder. Toni Mannix even confessed on her deathbed that -- in a moment of jealousy -- she told her mob boss husband to kill George. Isn't it about time the "suicide" ruling was dismissed once and for all? But regardless, George lives on as a legend. His only flaw was in associating with a bunch of shallow, soulless people who didn't deserve one second of his friendship.

  • GEORGE REEVES - NEVER FORGOTTEN ALWAYS REMEMBERED

    • Annette
    • 2010-10-19

    THOUGH I AM A CHILD OF THE 50S-60S ERA, IT IS NOT UNUSUAL FOR ME TO SAY I WAS ALSO A VICTIM OF THE SUPERMAN ERA. I SAT IN FRONT OF MY PHILCO B&W TIN TELEVISION WITH ONE KNOB TO TURN THE CHANNELS AND ONE TO TURN IT OFF AND ON AND REGULATE THE VOLUME. HOWEVER, GEORGE REEVES HAS APPEARED IN MANY FILMS, SOME PARTS SO SMALL THAT YOU HAD TO LOOK REALLY HARD TO SEE HIM AND HOPE THE CAMERA CAUGHT HIM AGAIN. I BELIEVE IF HE HAD FOUGHT HARD ENOUGH, HE COULD HAVE BEEN A VERY ROMANTIC LEADING MAN. IF HE HAD THE CHANCE TO TAKE ONE WOMAN IN HIS ARMS, THE SUPERMAN PERSONA WOULD HAVE LEAPED OVER A TALL BUILDING. BUT AS WE ALL KNOW, HOLLYWOOD WAS VERY SHORT-SIGHTED IN THOSE DAYS AND HE DIDN'T HAVE A CHANCE.

  • Honest George

    • Thom
    • 2006-07-30

    George Reeves was one of Hollywoods most promising actors, if the director mark sandrich, had lived. Mr Reeves would of been a hollywood star. Look at the movie so proudly we hail, for a good example. George Reeves, always gave of himself, 100 percent, in any role he played. He also contributed to various causes, while he was alive. Who Knows, what might of been? Or what he Could of Become, if he had lived.Thom

  • Honest George

    • Colete
    • 2006-05-14

    George Reeves was one of the most underrated actors of his time. Although The Adventures of Superman brought him into our homes once a week, there was so much more to this man than the big red "S". George was well liked and used to entertain people on the set by singing and playing his guitar. He was a great humanitarian and his efforts for the Myasthenia Gravis Foundation have been duly noted. Next month, there will be the first George Reeves Memorial Festival to honor George's hometown of Woolstock, Iowa. We hope to bring together so many from the generation that grew up with him and were influenced by this wonderful man.

  • George Reeves - "Honest George"

    • Professor Pepperwinkle
    • 2006-04-06

    George Reeves was one of America's greatest actors. Known as being a "nice guy" (which is typically unheard of in Hollywood) Reeves gained world-wide fame as portraying Clark Kent/Superman on TV's "The Adventures of Superman" which first aired in 1953.

  • Strange coincidence?

    • Bob
    • 2006-03-01

    Isn't it strange that this actor played superman on TV and Christopher Reeves was Superman on the "BIG Screen" and both died a tragic death? Coincidence?

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal information and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.