skip navigation
Tarzan, the Ape Man

Tarzan, the Ape Man(1932)

Up
Down
share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • The best

    • Pat
    • 5/18/19

    Johnny Weissmuller is the best Tarzan. Yeah, not "politcally correct" etc. but it was 1932!His yell will live forever and it is my cellphone ringtone :)

  • i was told..no furniture jokes.

    • a.morris
    • 5/8/18

    the start of a highly successful franchise..that influenced the future of Hollywood.

  • Bring on the elephants!

    • Margaret Gunning
    • 4/2/14

    Though film critics rhapsodize over this old clunker, perhaps they haven't watched it in a while. I kept waiting for it to get exciting: a huge amount of time was taken up with fleeing from/killing magnificent jungle animals. There seemed to be very little plot, and Jane's character was more irritating than Faye Wray's in King Kong. So what did it have in its favor? The Indian elephants with African elephant ears/tusks grafted on was quite entertaining. I loved watching Weismuller swim, even among all those fake crocodiles. Cheeta, as usual, did not disappoint. Weismuller was dizzyingly beautiful and struck just the right note of - what? Someone whose brain is an empty slate. Though I don't think he was much of an actor and never graduated from Tarzan roles, watching him move is mesmerizing. He is truly one with his jungle surroundings and has an archetypal/legendary quality no one else ever had. Any other actor would have gotten in the way, but he was absolutely pure.This whole thing functions as a setup for the infinitely-superior sequel, Tarzan and his Mate, with all that gorgeous erotic underwater swimming and the Flintstone-like hut with all the amenities. So I guess it's worth it, but if I ever see another elephant. . .

  • Tarzan the Ape man

    • will
    • 3/24/14

    One of my favorite memories as a kid in the 1950s. 25 cents bought you a ticket, a cold drink, and a box of last weeks popcorn, on a Saturday afternoon. Tarzan, Jane, Boy and of coarse one of the greatest unsung heroes in the history of films, CHITA. Did you ever notice? In EVERY Tarzan picture Chita is the Real hero. Without Chita being chased by Lions, Leopards, Crocs and my all time favorite villians the Gabonys. Tarzan would have been up to his loin cloth in IT. Those were great Saturday afternoons.

  • Tarzan the Ape Man

    • Jerry Cotton
    • 3/22/14

    Absolutely fabulous film. I have been able to watch every Tarzan film that was ever filmed. This my favorite. The action superb, casting was magnificent, production and the direction marvelous.

  • Too Noisy for Me!!

    • GypsyPi3000
    • 4/13/13

    Well, I think this movie should be seen because it is the classic Tarzan and Jane. But, I couldn't stand Maureen O'Sullivan's screeching. Sometimes I couldn't tell if it was her or the monkeys yelling for help. And at the end where every human and every animal in the jungle decided to scream, it left me feeling chaos. Something I don't like to feel. Plus, it had too much stock footage. It just looked ridiculous at points. Oh, and I felt sorry for many of those jungle animals. I'm sure animals were hurt or killed in the making of this movie because I think it was before any laws were passed to protect the animals. But, once again I say people should watch this movie just because Tarzan and Jane are so well known culturally.

  • Racy for 1932

    • Tom Hudson
    • 4/13/13

    One the more interesting aspects of this film is how the romance and seduction of Jane (O'Sullivan) by Tarzan was handled back in 1932. It's late in the day and time for sleep. Tarzan carries Jane, Tarzen looks at Jane, Jane looks at Tarzen, Tarzen looks up at his tree home, looks back at Jane, Jane looks at Tarzen and lays head on his shoulder as if to say "I'm OK with this". Fade out. Next scene is the next morning, Jane is laying on a mat in Tarzans tree, staring at the ground with a contented look and slight smile on oher face. In today's films she would be smoking a cigarette. Tarzan is out foraging for breakfast. Priceless!. By the way, the nude scene by Jane in the second film, "Tarzan and his Mate" used a double, not O'Sullivan.

  • Tarzan, the Ape Man (1932)

    • Mr. Blandings
    • 8/4/12

    Horrible ... offensive ... boring ... moronic ... just a few adjectives that come to mind about this movie. Except for the animated Disney film, there hasn't been a Tarzan film made that wasn't a steaming pile of "Great White Hunter" dung ... and this one paved the way for the rest.

  • Tarzan for Real

    • Kai
    • 7/17/12

    Read the book you fools!!!

  • Tarzan The Ape Man(1932)

    • nshepard
    • 6/10/12

    Directed by W.S. Van Dyke ,this tale of an abondened child to the jungles of Africa is one of intrigue and mystery. Weismuellers consumate performance as the "King of the Jungle" is mesmerizing, at least through the first film, where the jungle plays a significant character and the cast is still fresh. Nkima, the chimp friend to Tarzan has great comic relief. I could find no musical soundtrack so this might actually be the third M-G-M film not to have one. Highly recommended for its unique perspective.

  • Tarzan, the Ape Man

    • Mark Sutch
    • 4/8/11

    **1/2

  • Sets the Bar for all Tarzan Movies

    • Vic Ephrem
    • 4/2/11

    THE classic Tarzan ... if you only see one, see this one. Maureen O'Sullivan is wonderful (best Jane, by far), and chemistry between actors makes this a sincere and real story 80 years later.

  • Top-shelf Tarzan

    • Vic Ephrem
    • 4/2/11

    Despite it's age, still plays well. Interplay between Tarzan, Jane and Cheetah sets the standard for all Tarzan movies that follow.

  • love that jane

    • david
    • 1/19/11

    It's hard to watch this film without looking only at maureen o'sullivan. such a cute girl, face, petite figure and that lovely lilting voice. a shame that of all of her 6 tarzan movies, only tarzan and his mate has her doing a scene in the nude

  • tarzan the Apeman

    • jesse
    • 5/22/10

    One of the all time greatest adventure films, the first sound Tarzan film, the star Johhny Weissmuller starred in 12 Tarzan films in 16 years, then went onto star in the Jungle Jim film, TV series, and starred with other screen Tarzan Buster Crabbe in the film Swamp Fire, Weissmuller of course the greatest olympic swimmer of all time. costar Maureen O"Sullivan stared as Jane in six MGM Tarzan Films. Making Weissmuller/O"Sullivan one of the all time great screen coulples, one can also see in this film the influence in all other African adventure films to come later.

  • Tarzan, the Ape Man

    • janet fogen
    • 2/21/10

    This movie was the best and should be played all the time, not just once a year! People will highly enjoy this amazing movie!

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.