skip navigation
The Outlaw

The Outlaw(1943)

Up
Down

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

DVDs from TCM Shop

The Outlaw Billy the Kid and Doc Holliday... MORE > $11.95 Regularly $10.99 Buy Now

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • What's Jane Russell Doing In This Movie?

    • Larry
    • 5/31/19

    At the risk of expounding film heresy, Jane Russell is just plain weird in this movie. The relationships between Dc Holiday (Walter Huston), Billy the Kid (Jack Beutel) and the Sheriff (Thomas Mitchell), for the most part work. But Jane Russell as Rio is just strange. She is attractive in a terrifying way. The close ups of her face remind me of scenes from the 1950s horror film about the giant woman seeking revenge on men who have wronged her. Also, there is real cruelty in her face and it's mixed with cheap seductiveness throughout the movie. She is either standing in the shadows or in a corner looking as sultry as street walker or she is delivering stilted lines that I'm not sure she even understood. Westerns are great fun and this one has many of the elements of a good western: dusty town, poker games in a saloon, stunning dessert and mountain scenes, whiskey, Indians threatening the white guys and men who love their horses more that anyone or anything else. Jane Russell is tossed into the mix because she would attract young male viewers looking for cheesecake but that does not imply she could act. In fact, she ruins what should otherwise be an entertaining old west story. One other thing; the music is, at times, so over the top it seems more like an attempt a operetta than a good western.

  • Enough with the Tchaikovsky already

    • Neil
    • 11/28/18

    Score became annoying. The same symphonic theme over and over -- someone said it's Tchaikovsky. Rubbed my ears the wrong way. Music was unacceptable for the genre. Huston and Mitchell seem to be slumming -- out for a quick payday on Hughes' dime. Famous breasts may have stopped the show in the 40's. Didn't do much for today. Three stars seem fair to me.

  • Who is more beautiful?

    • Elise
    • 11/28/18

    Let's see. Who is more beautiful?Jane Russell or Marilyn Monroe?If you vote, let us know whether you are a gentleman, or a lady.(So we can tell if men and women have different tastes.) Thanks!

  • Surprisngly charming "Western"

    • Kimorella
    • 9/17/18

    As far as Western's go, this probably wouldn't make the cut - but Howard Hughes direction combined with the wry sense of humor of some of the cast.. well the film just comes off charming at the end of the popcorn bag. Yes, Jane Russell's bust line was also a main character, and yes - historically this seems to take much in the way of "dramatic license" but its fun in an almost campy way. Shocking topics were broached, which was a surprise given the time the film was made but Pat Garrett, Doc Holiday and Billy the Kid along with Rio and her rough and tumble Aunt made it worth the afternoon viewing. Thank you to TCM for introducing me to this little film.

  • oops

    • David
    • 6/21/16

    Watched on TCM today. Very dumb story... acting leaves me speachless... what was with the music? Jane Russell oh dear.I noticed a number of bluppers, but one really caught my eye towards the end of the flick... when Pat Garrett was cuffed to the brick pillar the heel of his boot was a Cat's Paw brand heel... oops... Cat's Paw heels didn't come around until 1904. This "scene" was 1881. It's hard to believe Hughes would've not noticed that.

  • A lot of false storytelling!

    • RedRain
    • 6/21/13

    In real life, both Pat Garrett and Doc Holliday were only eight years older than William Bonney. This makes Mitchell and Huston far too old to have played these two characters and why Hughes and Hawks decided on these two is beyond me. My guess is that they had already established themselves as film stars whereas Russell and Buetel were not well known and could not carry a film on their own. Buetel made for an excellent Billy the Kid and I liked him very much in this film. Russell is quite beautiful in this film and Hughes took full advantage of her looks. Later on, Russell looked hard and much less delicate in her films. I did find it amusing, particularly in the love scenes, that the music played was the Pathetique by Tchaikovsky and then, later on, Tchaikovsky was played again in the form of his Symphony No. 5. Rather strange choices for the Western genre...

  • No Tombstone Here.

    • GypsyPi3000
    • 4/8/13

    I had a really hard time watching this movie. Primarily because Val Kilmer was the ultimate cool Doc Holiday. I just don't think Huston made a sophisticated metropolitan Holiday. Then there was Jane Russell's bosom. I couldn't care less about it, but for some reason it stole the show.

  • The Outlaw - Enter At Your Own Risk!

    • Chris B.
    • 6/21/11

    Howard Hughes produced and directed this film and introduced the lovely Jane Russell, as Rio McDonald, to moviegoers attention. Although the film boasts both Thomas Mitchell as Pat Garrett and Walter Huston as Doc Holliday they seem too old for their roles. Jack Beutel plays William Bonney, alias Billy the Kid. This is the slowest moving Western I have ever seen and it is directed in a ponderous fashion. The story line is not at all heavy and seems to revolve around "Red" which was once Doc Holliday's horse but now belongs to Billy the Kid. The other story is one in which Pat Garrett and Doc Holliday were the best of friends until Billy comes between them. Pat Garrett resents the intrusion and Doc Holliday seems to take Billy's part in everything that's important. I think that film is worth seeing once but once is certainly enough. The musical score also leaves much to be desired and is simply wrong in its use.

  • The Outlaw

    • Mike
    • 8/8/07

    Hughes' matinee masterpiece.

  • Totally entertaining!

    • Tricia
    • 1/23/06

    I started out watching this movie out of curiosity aboutthe controversal contents (for 1943). But then I found myself totally enjoying the storyline and the characters especially of Billy the Kid and Doc Holiday. I thought it was funny and at times touching and totally entertaining. I found the controversal love scenes hilarious!

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.