skip navigation
Navy Blues

Navy Blues(1941)

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • Navy Blues/1941

    • Robert Rivera
    • 11/28/14

    I saw this movie when it first came out. I was 10 and have never forgotten it. It played recently on TCM but unfortunately I had some electrical work done and the electricity got turned off after I started recording it. Is it possible to show it again? I have tried to buy it but unfortunately the 1941 version is not for sale

  • Navy Blues

    • patricia
    • 1/10/14

    I am waiting for the day you air the movie.

  • Navy Blues 1941 musical comedy

    • Karl Machtanz
    • 11/5/11

    I had this film on VHS but lost it in a fire along with other old musical comedy movies, why can't this film be released to the general public on DVD ? this film has significant importance to people who's father or uncle was in this film being in the background and may be the only way someone today may see this person still alive, this is one of the few musical comedy's that makes one feel good and is a reminder of the care free days that would change our lives forever, please get this film onto DVD and show it more often on TCM.

  • Navy Blues

    • J.D. Hines
    • 7/30/10

    In addition to the other good reasons, don't miss Oakie and Haley doing native dance. Haley especially -- who (other than Chaplin) could be so feminine while dancing a hula.

  • My 96 year old sailor father was in this movie!

    • Faye
    • 11/18/09

    My dad, whose 96th birthday is tomorrow, was a sailor in this movie. He was in a few shots in this movie, he also was one of the sailors sitting while Ann Sheridan sang. I wish I had caught this sooner, I missed the first 20 minutes and I haven't seen this around for years. It's the first time I have watched it. My husband really enjoyed it. Now if I could find a way for my dad to see it. Please tell me when it will be on again. If I could get a CD of it I could give it to my dad to watch. He doesn't remember if he ever got to see it! Of course the war broke out right after this and he went to Pearl Harbor. If we could get a CD we could watch more closely and see if we could spot him.

  • ANN SHERIDAN IN A HULA SKIRT! A MUST SEE!!!

    • bill
    • 11/3/09

    saw this on tcm last week.very entertaining.

  • Navy Blues

    • karl
    • 1/7/08

    My uncle is one of the sailors in this film, the only movie of him, he is seen sitting in the background when the hula dance is being shot.

  • Navy blues

    • Craig
    • 12/13/07

    TCM proabily boosted moral of alot of old Navy vets. May be films of all of are services over a week. be shown!

  • My dad is in this!!!!

    • Paul Craig
    • 12/12/07

    My Father is one of the many wonderfull servicemen in this film!!I have been trying to get a copy of it forever!!!!Great Musical!!(Jackie Gleason's First Movie)My dad said they would play a pick-up game of football with all the male movie stars between shoots!

  • Navy Blues

    • Ted Leach
    • 7/29/07

    This movie was telecast some time ago (one year?) at an awkward time for me. Consequently, I missed it. The last time that I saw it was in the early forties. I remember that I enjoyed it very much . Will you be showing it again, soon. I can still "see" the billboard advertising the showing of this movie at one of the theaters in Bridgeport, Ct. at that time. Will you e-mail me to let me know if "Turner" plans to schedule its showing. Thanks, Ted.

  • I got the "No View Blues"!

    • Val in Vancouver
    • 4/28/06

    I've got the blues, 'cause I missed some of this movie due to poor signal failure/drop-outs. It seems like a fun musical-comedy. I'd like to see more lesser-known musicals like this one. As much as I love classics like "7 Brides For 7 Brothers" or "Meet Me In St. Louis", I've seen 'em a million times (and own the DVDs) so I wish TCM wouldn't schedule them quite so often. Make more room for obscure stuff like "Navy Blues" please! How about a Primetime/Evening Theme of "Sailors/Soldiers On Leave"? There's tons of movies on that subject! It would be more fun than, say, a pointless evening of "Movies That Have The Number FOUR In The Title But Have No Real Connection In Style/Tone/Subject Matter". That was lame.

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.