skip navigation
Khartoum

Khartoum(1966)

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • I hate what they did to the horses.

    • Judy McClelland
    • 3/25/19

    A lot of horses were killed in this movie. I just watched it again today. I don't remember seeing the damage that was done to the horses when I watched this movie years ago. I won't ever watch it again.

  • response to loren harding review

    • kevin sellers
    • 3/1/19

    If I were to write a review of this empty film I'd focus on the other reviewers' grammar, too.

  • No ending

    • Louis Derrico
    • 10/21/14

    I taped this movie using Comcast and after 2:15 my recording ended without seeing the end.

  • A General Reaction

    • Loren Harding
    • 10/9/14

    It would be really delightful if the "reviewers" on this website would take the time to verify the grammar and punctuation in their so-called reviews. I counted twenty-two errors in one "review" alone. Perhaps the reviewers are too busy watching the screen to be concerned about anything else?

  • Horse cruelty

    • Lauren newman
    • 9/20/14

    As a horse person my self, I can tell you horses where killed in the makeing of this film.In one scene where a grey horse comes down head first then whilst on the floor stretches Its front legs out to its face. That is a mechanism horses do when thy are in severe painAn know there gonna die.

  • More on the horses

    • Fred Penrod
    • 3/16/14

    I'm with Jerry Brown on this (belatedly). Yakima Canutt was not really known for his compassion for horses. They were fodder. It is unlikely that any movie with cavalry charge scenes such Khartoum's ever got made without injuries to horses, and it does appear that trip-wires were used.

  • A great historical epic

    • kenny
    • 5/18/13

    Lavishly mounted, this is the type of historical film that only the British seem to do well. A fairily accurate script, great desert locations and a fine cast with Charlton Heston giving a nice performance as General Gordon. The 70mm camera work gives the film a fine sweeping look as well. Two massive battles both begin and end the film, so l would say it is action packed as well. Even the music is nice as composer Frank Cordell's score captures both the mystery of the desert as well as the pagentry of the British empire. An impressive film that should be seen on the biggest TV screen around.

  • Khartoum

    • Gordon Brown
    • 2/11/10

    This is a first-class fact-based story of England's Chinese Gordon and his love for the Sudan in Africa. Historically-accurate, Charlton Heston does a magnificent job of acting the role of Gordon. I was fascinated the first time I saw it and enjoy it every time I see it on video tape. I am trying to find it on DVD.

  • Horses...

    • EQ
    • 1/31/10

    I believe no horses were harmed however, the stunts do take-you-outta-the-movie because you can't help but empathize with the animals' derring-do.

  • Sure looked like tripwires

    • TT
    • 2/20/09

    I have to agree that even though stunt coordinator Yakima Canutt says in his bio (see TCM notes on this film) no horses were harmed or riders injured doing the stunts for the life of me the scenes of many horses at once falling forward- all in a line in at least one shot- look like tripwires were used. There is no other way they could have duplicated that! One scene features a horse and rider running over a person at full speed absolutely creaming the guy. Maybe that was set up like the stuntwork in Ben-Hur where any horses trampling people were faked with dummies. Supposedly the use of tripwires had been long banned in films before 1966 but I've seen stuntwork similiar to that in other 60s film as well. I can't believe even at the time they could get away with such obvious use of tripwires- you'd think the SPCA or other animal rights groups would have raised a stink.

  • Animal Cruelty

    • Jerry W. Brown
    • 4/29/08

    I love most movies that feature Charlton Heston, however, while watching this movie, I noticed that a lot of the horses are tripped, while in a dead run,sending them end over end. In almost every case, this practice results in the horse having to be killed. I can't really enjoy a movie when I know that an animal is made to suffer needlessly for only a second or two of entertainment. The horse is doing exactly what his rider is asking of him but he is mistreated for his efforts.

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.