skip navigation
Johnny Cool

Johnny Cool(1963)

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

DVDs from TCM Shop

Johnny Cool A deported gangster trains an... MORE > $11.45 Regularly $19.95 Buy Now

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • Salvatore Guiliano Kills For A Godfather-type

    • thesicilian
    • 4/30/15

    Salvatore and his mother come up against Nazis,he pulls the pin on one,two more try to kill him,but kill his mother instead,then he joins up with the local mob.One of his own later rats him out,he's wounded,snuck away,and another man is executed by the army and paraded around as Salvatore.Meanwhile back on the mainland he's groomed for mob vengeance by his savior.Excellent acting by Elizabeth Montgomery & Henry Silva.Lawford features many of the Ocean's Eleven alumni,esp Sammy.

  • Lawford,Silva,Sammy,Brad Dexter

    • halfaratpack
    • 4/30/15

    Good story of Salvatore Giuliano,famed Sicilian.Supposedly killed by the Army,executed more appropriate,Johnny Cool is spirited away to Italy proper to meet with the real Johnny C.He goes to America,where he shakes up the mob,and meets and falls for Elizabeth Montgomery.Liked all but the end.

  • Slow Start but Fantastic Ending

    • Alexander
    • 3/22/14

    Johnny Cool starts off in the middle of a situation, causing slight confusion or questioning by the viewer but as any action movie, the answers eventually come around within the plot. The film starts off a little slow and foreign but as the events transpire my personal interest increased, especially when Elizabeth Montgomery' s character is introduced. Personally I felt no connection to Johnny at all, and me being an eighteen year-old male you wouldn't think that I connected a great deal to Elizabeth but I did. Her emotional performance captivated me and her decision at the final moments made the movie worth-while (especially since the ending is not your typical finale for the times.) Love this movie!

  • Interesting Movie Seldom is Shown

    • Peter Blake
    • 3/8/14

    Worth the time to see it. You don't want to think about it too long afterward, however. Plot is a little far fetched but you can buy into it. I suspect Marc Lawrence's character was inspired by Lucky Luciano but don't know that for sure. Marc Lawrence was one of those actors who was born to play crooks. Casting Jim Backus and John McGiver as underworld types is a little bit of a stretch. Jim Backus COULD play other parts besides Mister Magoo and Thurston Howell III. Montgomery is good. Too bad she didn't do many feature films. Starting with Bewitched,she spent most of her time on television. Henry Silva made a career out of playing nasty people and he was a good choice for this also. I agree: It should be on DVD.

  • Very Highly Recommend

    • ohjohnny
    • 10/19/13

    Have heard some of Salvatore's history as Sicilian Robin Hood.Well-done movie,amazed how good Eliz Montgomery is as divorcee,Howard Siva great as Johnny.Hope it plays more on TCM in near future

  • Good Movies Should Be Shown

    • Ron
    • 12/28/11

    Please play this movie on TCM as it was a reelly good movie beforemit's time. It was probably the moviethat started all present day crime movies. (the good ones's anyhow). I'm sure you would garner a verylarge audience if you would show it on TCM. There are so many bad movies that are shown over and over itwould be a nice change of pace to see a good one!!!!!!!!

  • Johnny Cool

    • Tony
    • 4/1/11

    I just saw this movie,it blew my mind for 1963 cinema it had to be ahead of it's time,Henry Silva as usual being ruthless I hope a DVD release is soon!!!!!!!

  • johnny cool

    • robert barnes
    • 10/15/10

    i saw this movie when i was younger. it has a great story and was way ahead of it's time. i missed it when it was last shown on Turner classics. I would love to see it again. to my knowledge, it is not available on DVD. Thanks

  • johnny cool.

    • john pina
    • 4/6/08

    can you please play the movie johnny cool.it is one of the best movies made.and I have'n seen it in years know one plays it.

  • Worth a Look!

    • Robert
    • 5/3/07

    A very unusal treatment for the time. Enjoyable, especially when taken with today's standards as compared to the movie time frame.

  • Pretty Good

    • Jamie
    • 4/19/07

    This movie is a really good one, I don't see why it's not on dvd already. I loved EM in it of course and the plot was really wild. It had all sorts of twists and turns and by the end your mouth is hanging open and your clutching the edge of the seat!

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.