skip navigation
Payment Deferred

Payment Deferred(1932)

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • This movie made me love Charles Laughton...

    • Laura V-B
    • 9/10/15

    Charles Laughton is a magnificent actor, and his over-reactions in this movie are harmless and quirky, adding to the overall feeling of the movie which is a somewhat lighter reflection of an otherwise dark and dreadful topic. The story tells of the financial desperation that drives him to his first perilous deed, and then continues to carry him further and further into the dark abyss of his soul as he strives to hide his misdeed. He is a naughty, naughty man and eventually pays handsomely...first through his ever-intensifying fears and then he finally faces up to a crime...just not the one he committed. Excellent way to spend just under an hour, if memory serves me correctly. Next time I catch it on TCM, I'm going to record it to watch whenever I'm feeling the need for a naughty little Laughton in my life!

  • charles laughton movies

    • carolyne
    • 7/21/15

    I would like to see Charles laughton movies more of them especially""" ,,payment deferred """and """the suspect""" you havent put the suspect on for ages,,, thats a great movie,, c'mon tcm ,, put these on not just the same old ones,,, ty pleaseeeeee

  • Payment Deferred

    • Cheryl
    • 8/2/13

    I really enjoy watching all of Laughton's movies and this one is a real treasure. I would love to see a whole month of Charles Laughton movies beginning with his earliest! This particulre movie is one of my all time favorites. All of the supporting actors and actresses are wonderful.

  • Payment Deferred (1932)

    • Mr. Blandings
    • 10/7/11

    Quirky but eerie movie with Charles Laughton as the morally bankrupt loser who kills for money and then can't live with his guilty conscience. The way he keeps jumping at noises and is transfixed with the lump of dirt in his garden that marks the spot where he buried his nephew, reminds one of Poe's "The Tell-Tale Heart." Laughton's performance is very expressive and not very subtle, which makes the movie highly engaging but at times highly amusing and I don't know whether it's purposeful black comedy or not. Maureen O'Sullivan's performance as the daughter is surprisingly honest and heartfelt, especially at the end when she visits her father (spoiler) before his execution. Oh, and the synopsis on TCM is incorrect, as Laughton's character doesn't make a habit of murder. Ray Milland's character is the only person he kills directly, although indirectly he is fully responsible for the death of his wife, and so -- as the title says -- his payment to society is deferred (i.e. postponed or delayed) but he does indeed pay for it in the end.

  • Payment Deferreed

    • Katie River
    • 1/15/11

    why can't we have Charles Laughton for a whole monthstarting with all the old movies first then unto the last one. I am a big fan. I can watch his movies every day and nevermove from my chair. Please show us Payment Deferred Ican not find it not even in Hollywood the capital of movies.

  • a little gem

    • don
    • 1/8/11

    I love anything with Maureen O'Sullivan, this is one of her many fine films. She does such a nice job starting out as a meek submissive daughter, then transforms her character to a bold independent lass, her former humility giving way to some snobbery and then, at the end, once again a loving daughter. Wonderful!

  • Payment deferred

    • Catalina
    • 5/15/10

    If you enjoy Charles Laughton movies. You will not want to missthis powerful performance. Ray Milland is great. Lets get those old movies out here.

  • Payment Deferred (1932)

    • James Higgins
    • 2/18/10

    Charles Laughton delivers yet another powerful performance in a very well written story. Ray Milland is great in an early supporting role. Nice cinematography and a great pace. It's a bit melodramatic at times but it was always interesting thanks to Laughton.

  • This Film on DVD

    • Jeffrey Kenison
    • 1/13/09

    I think this movie should be on DVD sooner rather than later. As you know, I like Charles Laughton.

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.