skip navigation
A Midsummer Night's Dream

A Midsummer Night's Dream(1935)

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

DVDs from TCM Shop

A Midsummer Night's Dream Shakespeare's classic... MORE > $14.95 Regularly $19.98 Buy Now

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • A MID SUMMER NIGHTS DREAM

    • WILL
    • 2/28/19

    Has Olivia De Havilland been give the Academy Award for lifetime achievement ? She is one of the most beautiful ladies to ever grace the screen, and she Is a Lady first last and always. Watching You Olivia, in films throughout my life has been a very gracious experience.

  • A MIDSUMMER NIGHTS DREAM

    • WILL
    • 12/13/17

    Way back when in the early 1930s, Jack Warner was told critics that Warner Bros studio could only put out violent gangster movies and sappy musicals. A Midsummer Nights Dream was Jack Warners reply. Brilliant, for its time, considering sound films were only a few years old.

  • learn your lesson

    • a.morris
    • 10/22/17

    if you are a student and need to do a report on any classic story by the bard..then this movie adaptation should help you get into the spirit of it.it may be the best version of a midsummer dream ever. everyone did an excellent job behind the scenes. the acting talent went for it. no one dogged it. there are live action versions of this story that are fantastic but no american movie has come close to this. you decide .. the lady who was in robin hood in this one or.. the lady who played ally mcbeal in a 1990s version..must be an age thing..i will pick the 1935 one. although.. the 90s version does have stanley tucci and he is a real life spirit demon. dennis miller once talked smack about him.. and his career vanished.

  • Acid trip

    • Catherine
    • 6/30/16

    I forgot to rate this. Giving it 5 stars for the ethereal beauty and magical set designs and costumes.I love me some pixie dust.

  • Acid trip

    • Catherine
    • 6/30/16

    Good thing l gave up drugs, this is one wacky movie, 'nuf said....

  • Do not miss this movie

    • Leonard
    • 2/8/16

    This movie is chock full of overacting - as Shakespeare intended. Possibly the best interpretation of a Shakespearian play ever, and that includes Hamlet. Mickey Rooney is perfect as Puck. Cagney tries to steal the movie, as do several others, but that is what I believe Will S. wanted from this play - silliness, overacting, and general chaos. But behind it all there is just the wonderful history of this movie and its stars - wow. A true classic.

  • A Midsummer Night's Dream 1935

    • Susan
    • 2/8/16

    FYI: choreography by Bronislava Nijinsky(sister of Vaslav). A masterpiece, to say the least.

  • The Magic & Mischief of Mickey Rooney

    • minnie fleur
    • 12/2/14

    If you're not a Shkspre fan, you'll understand this story more easily than his others. It's a play w/o much action; but just appreciate the sound of the language, thoughts, & emotions expressed by the players. The film is done artistically, for it's own time. James Cagney is great, but the shining star is 14yr old Mickey Rooney. "Puck" gets the real action & fun, & Mickey's performance is positively enlightening to any actor. His confidence, fearless physicality & stunning verbal strength, make him jump out of the screen. He grabs the dialogue by the mane, & controls the rhythm, as if he conjures it up from the ground & the air. His quality is called "Natural Talent."

  • Fun Unreal

    • Condie
    • 6/24/14

    The finest 1935 collection of movie actors in the business playing the most unique roles of their lives, intermingled with the music of Mendelssohn almost make, for this viewer, a tolerance of Shakespeare and Greek fantasy. In his most hilarious role ever, Mickey Rooney makes it downright fun! The ballet dancing sequences have no equal. This production of "Midsummer Night's Dream" is quite unlike any other.

  • A Midsummer Night's Dream

    • Mark Sutch
    • 4/13/11

    ***1/2

  • A Midsummer Night's Dream (1935)

    • Judy Smith
    • 12/3/10

    This was a wonderful, magical production caught by chance on TCM at the end of a long, tiring day. I was mesmerized by the setting and the oh, so, familiar words that sounded so natural when spoken by the characters....the whole play was brought to life as I could never have imagined...thank you Warner Bros. for the gift of a lifetime.

  • A Midsummer Night's Dream

    • Robert Pacl
    • 12/2/10

    I was in love with Olivia DeHaviland in Robin Hood and would walk on burning coals to see her so my interest is biased. I liked all the character actors and enjoyed them in most of their films. But this was a leap too far as a production. The choreography was banal, the leaping and prancing from a kindergarten class and the over-acting very wearing. Special effects would have to wait for King Kong's legacy to be absorbed. Mickey Rooney could have delivered a good perfformance if the director had done his job. The talent was certainly there. Olivia was the only one who seemed to have the restraint and insight needed for her part. In summary, it was a trailblazer which offered promise and a platform from which to advance, which is reason enough to watch it.

  • A Midsummer Night's Dream, 1935

    • vintage52
    • 8/21/10

    This version is the most beautifully realized version I have ever scene. The forest scenes are truly magical. The performances are superb, especially that of 12 year old Mickey Rooney, the delightful Puck. But all the other performances are great as well. What a cast! I dvr'd this movie and made my granddaughter watch it, as it is a classic. She was mesmerized by it, as well. Given the special effects, they must have been ground breaking for the time. I recommend this movie for all TCM fans. The Shakespearean language is easy to understand, due to the interpretation of the actors. Fabulous!

  • A Midsummer Night's Dream (1935)

    • Jay
    • 7/17/09

    As much as I have tried, I just can't get into Shakespeare. I inevitably get bored. I am sure this is a very good rendering of the classic story. It is certainly well produced, and the cast is terrific, but it bored me throughout.

  • A Midsummer Night's Cagney

    • Theresa
    • 5/27/09

    A movie you'll find worth watching mainly because of Cagney. A movie you'll want to own for the same reason. Cagney wears a jack ass's head for part of the film and I promise you'll believe in his character! Watch for his donkey laugh which is priceless, and his whole body shaking scene. I can't say enough about his ability to act. A colorized version of this movie would be well worth it as black and white does not to it justice. Olivia DeHaviland is awesome. Shakespeare is sort of mangled but I think he would forgive the efforts of the actors.

  • Bizarre but watchable

    • Oliver Cutshaw
    • 2/1/08

    For years I had heard about this production but never seen it. Well now I have seen it twice on TCM. Whoa nelly! Too many props, bat-men, fairies, elves prancing, and Warner Brothers stars trying way too hard. Still it is undeniably fun to watch. Not sure much of Billy Shakespeare's original play is left. Has to be seen to be believed.

  • Wonderful

    • Sue
    • 5/19/07

    Costumes and various actors accents were very funny in a period piece. Really fun to watch. Great to see up and coming stars at suvh young ages.

  • The Most Magical Production

    • Jack Warford
    • 4/27/07

    I have seen most film versions of this play, and I find this to be the most enjoyable and the most magical. Classical performances by James Cagney, Mickey Rooney, Joe E. Brown, and Dick Powell. Uses Mendelsohn's music for the background. A must have if it were only available.

  • A Midsummer Night's Dream (1935) on DVD!

    • Bob
    • 4/19/07

    I love this film, and if you're reading this, chances are you do too! Please vote to have this film released on DVD. My VHS copy is getting all worn out!

  • Classic version of Shakespearean comedy

    • Jim Shertzer
    • 2/2/06

    Max Reinhardt's stage production, famously produced at the Hollywood Bowl, was the basis for this all-star Warner screen adaptation. In addition to a great cast, ranging from Mickey Rooney as Puck to a wonderful James Cagney as Bottom, the film utilizes then state-of-the-art special effects for its re-creation of Shakespeare's enchanted Athenian woods and a great adaptation of Mendelssohn's score by then Hollywood newcomer, Erich Korngold. The film was my introduction to Shakespeare, in late-****ht showings on TV in the 50s. It's truly a classic and deserves restoration and a permanent place on the DVD shelf.

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.