skip navigation
Mr. Blandings Builds His Dream House

Mr. Blandings Builds His Dream House(1948)

Contribute

FOR Mr. Blandings Builds His Dream House (1948) YOU CAN

UPLOAD AN IMAGE SUBMIT A VIDEO OR MOVIE CLIP ADD ADDITIONAL INFORMATION WRITE YOUR OWN REVIEW

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

DVDs from TCM Shop

Mr. Blandings Builds His Dream... A New York... MORE > $15.96 Regularly $19.98 Buy Now

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • Light hearted fun comedy

    • Gina
    • 6/8/19

    Another entertaining comedy from one of the true greatest movie stars of the cinema, Cary Grant. Have fun watching this comedy with popcorn, soda pop and all the goodies that go along with it. Enjoy!

  • Entertaining & realistic

    • Linda DiBenardo
    • 11/24/18

    It still rings true, buyers with unrealistic expectations of what their money will buy. Love the line when the architect says you have more rooms ( space ) on the second floor than the first. And wife must have 4 bathrooms.Mryna and Cary are charming as the befuddled homebuyers.I am a realtor see this all the time with buyers expecting so much for their buck.

  • Cary & Myrna's Movies Momentum

    • Will Fox
    • 11/23/18

    Cary Grant and Myrna Loy were climbing high in public popularity plus profitability, when "Mr. Blandings Builds His Dream House" (MBBHDH) was produced in 1948. As a couple, their chemistry compatibility was proven in 1947's "The Bachelor and the Bobby-Soxer." Myrna Loy earned dramatic acting acclaim in 1046's "The Best Years of Our Lives" and was a proven comedic winner in The Thin Man (TM) series, staring/starting in 1934: 1936's After TTM; 1939's Another TM; 1941's Shadow of TTM; 1944's TTM Goes Home; plus 1947's Song of The Thin Man. Ditto Cary Grant's movies multiplying momentum: Hitchcock's 1946 "Notorious" and comedic truths proven in 1947's "The Bishop's Wife" plus 1949's "I Was a Male War Bride." Cary & Myrna's Movie Momentum multiplies more with Melvyn Douglas, debonair star - one the fewest, honored with Oscar, Emmy plus Tony Award joins MBBHDH, as both Best Friend/lawyer and narrator with savvy and witty insights. James Wong Howe, celebrated Cinematographer, completely captures comic scenes and maintains movie momentum memorably. Highly recommended with extra thanks for multiple viewing opportunities over days on WatchTCM.

  • philosophical differences.

    • a.morris
    • 12/21/17

    mr. blandings builds his dream house with cary grant.. is the reason why people may believe.. in the idea that artistic film and the business of making money.. off of it can co exist. the money pit with tom hanks might make people believe there is no god.

  • Mr. Blandings Builds his Dream House

    • Carole Anderson
    • 8/29/16

    My husband's house was one of the 60 houses built to the specs of Mr. Blandings Builds his Dream House. It was opened to the public when the movie came out. The house has been owned by the same family to almost 70 years.

  • $15,000.00 a Year

    • J. D. Jitters
    • 4/24/16

    The voice over in the film mentions that Mr. Blanding's makes $15,000.00 a year, I lived back then and my father made $5,000.00 a year at the Philadelphia navel base. My parents paid $4,000.00 for there home. Isn't it amazing how over the years money has lost it value sometimes called deflation, also very scary.

  • Loved it.

    • denscul
    • 4/24/16

    As someone who may not have been as charming as Cary Grant, I did have a REAL life experience quite similar to the basis of the story. For those youngsters, the Money Trap is a semi updated version of moving from the city (NYC) of course, into the country. Moving is never a pleasant activity, and the only way you can maintain any mental health is through humor. Although the final results of the move can easily be the HAPPY ENDING, getting there is always a problem, and the problem is greater when the move is further, from city to country, and with demanding changes in life style that can break up solid marriages, jobs, and friends. Considering the above, the film is hilarious, and more so if you have ever had the experience yourself.

  • A very funny cautionary tale....

    • Jim
    • 11/22/15

    This is something of an early version of the Money Pit. But it is far better. That's because Cary Grant, once again, plays a befuddled yet determined good guy who dreams of a better life in rural Connecticut for his wife and daughters. Myrna Loy is understated, elegant, patient and quietly very funny as Grant's wife. Melvyn Douglas is just perfect in his role as narrator, attorney and best friend of Cary Grant and Myrna Loy. His commentary as the house begins to consume the lives (and the money) of the family is always hilarious. If I correctly recall, there is a Jack Benny film (George Washington Slept Here) made in 1939 which has a similar concept. But Mr. Blandings works better because of the chemistry between Myrna Loy and Gary Grant. They are perfect together. I have read that when the film was released, the studio actually built a number of houses identical to the one built by the Blandings as a promotional gimmick. That had to be a very expensive advertising tactic. I wonder if there is a clear record of where they were built and if they still exist today.

  • "The lintels between the lallies" II

    • Thomas
    • 12/9/14

    Just reading Mr. Boston's reference to the lintels between the lallies caused me to laugh out loud. You don't get a much more charming and fun film than this one. Three master actors at their comedic finest with a great cast of supporting actors. The universal experience of the joys of home ownership during the post WWII housing shortage. It's like a glass of hot cocoa on a cold winter day. Always delicious and you never get tired of it.

  • "The lintels between the lallies"

    • Jeff Boston
    • 9/5/12

    Cary Grant's character decides to "trade city soot for sylvan charm" and spends a lot of loot, gets some back from a kindly coot, and is the head of a family for which we root. A lesser man would have given his attorney the boot, and seeing Bunny Funkhouser would have been a hoot. Great acting in this '48 film that plays like a 50's TV sitcom. However, father rarely knows best, like in too many of Hollywood's undermining comedies (in the too few shows featuring a family) the last 30 years.

  • timeless movie

    • sunny
    • 12/17/11

    it is a story that fits today -people having jobs in the city wanting to get out of city and commute, I like the first scene in the NYC apt. so small , not much has changed. It is a funny and entertaining movie.

  • Blandings is the tops

    • Blanditaint
    • 12/7/11

    Great story

  • Blandings Built a Classic

    • Edythe Van Hopper
    • 8/19/11

    I Loved the delivery of each line in this classic from the zuzz-zuzz water-softener to the simple brick floor in the potting room...3 actors whose chemistry in this movie made one great movie. I have never watched this without marveling at the the crafting of each scene...I wish I could watch it for the 1st time all over again.

  • The names Cole. Bill Cole. Friend of the family.

    • Mr. Blandings
    • 8/13/11

    Brilliantly and hilariously told tale of modern man's need to free himself from the shackles of urban life, with both sides of the problem well-explored. Add to the mix marital mistrust, the triviality of the advertising business, and out-of-control expenses, and you have the perfect comedic vehicle for Grant, Loy, and Douglas. Reginald Denny is great as the architect beleagured by the couple's ignorance when it comes to house plans ("Well, for one thing, you've got the upper floor twice the size of the lower one.") From Bunny Funkhouser's open-toed sandals, to Mr. Zucca's ledge, to the Zuz-Zuz water-softener, his movie is brimming with hundreds of memorable and funny lines!

  • Is Wham anything like Spam?

    • ms. miniver
    • 12/10/08

    I love Mr. Blandings! The situations that Cary Grant and Myrna Loy get into are right out of I Love Lucy. Just think, Ethel and Lucy construction company! It's hard to believe that a house could ever cost $15,000. But aside from that detail, Myrna Loy was never funnier. "I tell you, if you go down to the nearest grocer and buy a pound of butter and match that perfectly, you can't go wrong!" So far, I noticed that none of the other reviewers have mentioned Louise Beavers who has the best line in the whole movie! "If you ain't eatin Wham, you ain't eatin ham!" Thank you Louise for giving this movie and many others a happy and comical ending.

  • Two Men and a Woman

    • Jeff Braun
    • 4/11/06

    No, it's not like that at all (get your mind out of the gutter). This is just another in a long series great comedies from two (three) of the best of their (or any) time. The film walks a narrow line between being screwball and being romantic. I mean, you've got an entire family to deal with. But, one thing is for sure, it is a classic American comedy. Casting (Grant, Loy and Douglas), writing, and direction are perfectly balanced giving great comic pace and emotion. The film is also timeless (you just have to get past the dollar amounts mentioned...or long for the good 'ol days) in that what applied then to house building, still applies today...as well as the comedy (and tragedy) of certain situations. First rate fun!

  • A priceless gem...

    • david lincoln brooks
    • 3/31/06

    MR. BLANDINGS BUILDS HIS DREAM HOUSE is a thrilling gem. For sharp wit, heart, star quality-- and sincerity-- it is as "on fire" today as it was when it was made.

  • A Delight!

    • Bob Galvin-Oliphant
    • 2/12/06

    What a delightful comedy! Cary Grant, Myrna Loy, and the rest of the cast are all perfect in their roles.

  • House Location

    • Craig
    • 2/7/06

    Better tell your friend to pack up and head to Malibu Creek State Park in California.I also read in a 1949 Consumer Report regarding the promotion for the film and the building of 70 Model Blandings houses; anyone have any locations?

  • Blandings House

    • will
    • 1/30/06

    I believe that when the film was released, model Blandings houses were built in many locations across the country. I have heard that one of these homes is in the Baltimore, MD area where I live.

  • Information on location

    • Carolyn
    • 1/25/06

    Actually, I am interested in knowing exactly where the movie was made. Was it actually filmed in Conn. I have a friend who loves the movie and it is driving him nuts wanting to know where it was actually filmed.Thank you.

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.