skip navigation
Talk About a Stranger

Talk About a Stranger(1952)

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • talk about a stranger

    • kevin sellers
    • 12/24/18

    Sorry Eddie M but if this movie is a noir then I'm the fourth McGuire sister. Bestowing that status upon it 'cause of John Alton's admittedly haunting cinematography is like calling "Billy Budd" a "sailor noir" 'cause it stars Robert Ryan. Still, there is much to admire in this short, odd film where the first half is your standard Disney boy/dog pic and the really weird second half is best described as "Boo Radley meets Psycho". Aside from Alton's unsettling, if striking, imagery you have, through Margaret Fitts' fine screenplay adaptation of Charlotte Armstrong's story, a wonderful portrait of a semi rural Calif. town that bears an uncomfortable resemblance to the one in "Shadow Of A Doubt", populated as it is by aggressive children and gossipy adults. You also have direction from someone I've never heard of before named David Bradley that is nicely poised between the creepy and the sentimental while never going overboard into either category. And finally you have strong performances from all the lead actors, especially Billy Gray giving one of the better 50s child acting turns you'll ever see (not Dean Stockwell, but close), George Muphy doing a good job of playing a good dad, and Nancy Davis portraying a character who is the polar opposite of her real life persona. So let's give this non noir B pic a solid B.

  • Not Noir

    • Patrick Keenan
    • 12/16/18

    Note to Eddie Muller- Because John Alton was the cinematographer does not make a film a film noir nor a ' near noir' not ven a 'noir or not' . I agree with the previous criticisms.And add this- TALK ABOUT A STRANGER. is a film twee.More fitting for a Hallmark Special. Muller's brain has gotten as soft as Bigelow's belly. If Muller was walking near Noir Alley, Neville Brand would spot him for an easy mark and rob him of all the 'noir' accessories he's a huckster for. Eddie show some real noir like the seldom seen THE SCAVENGERS

  • not worthy of Noir Alley

    • Lorna
    • 12/16/18

    This movie is so uneven. Characters are inconsistent. Gaps in plot to drive a convoy of oil tank trucks through. Billy Gray's character is ultimately annoying in every scene. Only good move the crew made was to minimize Nancy Davis' part.

  • lousy movie

    • Larry
    • 12/16/18

    This film has some good character actors (including Lewis Stone who played Andy Hardy's father in so many movies) but the plot is just awful. it would not make a good middle school play. The actors are two dimensional. The story is painfully predictable and simple. The obvious blindness of the community members is hateful. The feeble attempt at some sort of moralistic conclusion is ineffective at best and laughable at worst. The kid, played by Billy Gray, downshifts from neighborhood tyrant to all American boy in about thirty seconds. And the cheery final moments and ludicrous closing music following so many dark and creepy scenes are each like hitting a wall at a speed of 80 mph. And how does TCM think this is film noir?

  • This movie is annoying...

    • Oldmovieperson
    • 12/16/18

    Billy Gray does nothing but yell, run, and bang on things through the whole thing.

  • Talk about Strange????

    • Mingo Floyd
    • 12/16/18

    As for a Film Noir this is somewhat laughable, this does;nt even come close to being a noir epic, not when you compare it to such notables as The Bad Seed or even the Childrens Hour. This film is lacking in empathy for such a precocious kid who seems to have a juxta positioning as to who is the Parents and which is the child.Everything they tell him not to do , HE DOES..I was hoping he would disappear. But I digress Mr Muller I am disappointed when I think of Noir genre I have visions of Smoking Rods, Tawdry Dames and Marauding Manhunts.This reminded me of Lassie. To think I waited up till Midnite when allk of Gotham is sleeping except for its notorious Underbelly to witness a profile of a boy and his dog makes me think that you're actually sipping Tea in that glass and not the swill that passes for gin made up in yesterdays Bathtub. I part with these words Is This the END of FILM NOIR as we know it? Say it AIN:T SO.Sincerely yours...Mingo Carlos ( Pretty Boy) FLOYD!!!!!

  • I Loved this Movie

    • Judy DeGraff
    • 11/26/12

    I caught this movie half way through, as the guide said an Abbot and Costello movie was on. This is such a special movie, loved Billy Gray and his emotions. I also love small dogs, and this dog was so special! I am surprised I have never heard of or seen this movie before, as I am truly a TCM fan!

  • talk about a stranger

    • carm
    • 11/26/12

    what a terrible movie. the new neihbour is in maybe 3 scenes. we know nothingabout him, and yet the kid acts so quickly with no evidence that he is guilty for thedeath. i am no writer, but would be nice if they built up the tension a little longer.

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.