skip navigation
Across the Pacific

Across the Pacific(1942)

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • Great casting!

    • RedRain
    • 8/20/16

    One of the best things about TCM is the "Summer Under the Stars" when we cn see some films we may have missed starring our favorite actors. For me, this was one I'd missed with Bogart starring. While Bogart is the "star" name, the cast of "usual suspects" is all there too. The fantastic Sydney Greenstreet, Peter Lorre. Claude Rains and more. This isn't a great film but it is a good one, particularly in the wartime genre and with a surprise ending. It has good dialogue and a story told in retrospect. I liked it very much and will certainly view it again!

  • allying with the devil

    • kevin sellers
    • 11/6/15

    I understand the realities of wartime alliances. I also understand that, if you join forces with the devii, you should expect a bit of that deviltry to rub off on you, in the form of hypocrisy. (i.e. Assuming that pious capitalism is morally superior to godless communism)

  • Speaking of God...

    • Victor dePicciotto
    • 11/6/15

    Winston Churchill, asked about allying with Stalin during the war, said he would make a pact with the Devil to beat Hitler. The Soviet Union joined the Nazis in the division of Poland at the outbreak of WWII and then reaped the whirlwind when their 'buddies' turned on them. It didn't take them long to turn on their other 'buddies' once Der Fuehrer was finished.

  • across the pacific

    • kevin sellers
    • 9/20/15

    Apropros of Jeff's excoriation of Japan and Germany for "man over God madness," may I just point out that one of our two principal allies in WW2 was Godless Russia? Guess they're not so damned when they're on our side, huh?

  • "You started it and we'll finish it"

    • Jeff Boston
    • 9/9/15

    Powerfully prophetic line, like "... our side will win" in Casablanca, made just after this WW2 dialogue-driven delight. Bogart against Japan and then Germany and their man-over-God madness in films made while they were killing us. Greenstreet and Bogart are both very good here. Except for a man wearing Coke-bottle glasses and a quip by Bogart while lying out in the sun on the boat deck, the Japanese (played by Chinese actors here) are treated surprisingly well, probably because the film takes place prior to the sneak attack on Pearl Harbor that still resonates today due to the death toll, devastation, and decidedly dishonest dealings dished out by the Japanese government just prior to the bombings that wiped out thousands of Americans.

  • across the pacific

    • kevin sellers
    • 5/26/15

    Obviously an attempt by Warner Bros. to rebottle the magic of "Maltese Falcon" by bringing back Bogie, Mary Astor, and Sidney Greenstreet, (but not, alas, Peter Lorre or Elisha Cooke, both of whom I sorely missed.) Unfortunately, you cannot transpose characters from one genre (private eye) to another (wartime espionage) and expect the same results. Take Bogie's character, Richard Leland, for example. A loyal government agent is just not as mysterious or interestingly ambiguous as a sleazy private detective with a penchant for sleeping with his partner's wife. It would have been better if Leland had actually been cashiered from the army for stealing and thus had reason to be truly tempted by Greenstreet to betray his country, and then somehow changed. That certainly would have produced some much needed suspense. But of course that didn't fit with the general patriotic tone of this film. I guess that's ok. Making a movie less interesting is a small price to pay for rallying public opinion behind a just war. Give it a C plus. P.S. By suggesting, through the "Joe" character, that there were many disloyal Japanese Americans, this movie helped pave the way to Manzanar. Wonder if Huston or Bogie ever felt even a twinge of guilt about this?

  • Who wrote that wonderful dialogue?t

    • Michael horgan
    • 3/15/14

    It seemed at first one of the numerous 'studio production' movies. But then I found myself enthralled by the humour laden lines. Mary had some of the best lines and when Bogie and her played a scene together the dialogue shone through.The movie also suggests, quite rightly, that some of the Japanese still held an allegiance to a country other than America.The writer was Richard MacCaulay and they list a Dialogue director - Edward Blatt.

  • Check it out.

    • Carol Miles
    • 1/1/11

    To be perfectly honest, I can't make up my mind about good or not this war time movie is as a whole. BUT, no studio made pictures more fun to watch (in those old studio days) than Warner Brothers. This picture is just plain fun to sit through. The usual WB suspects are wonderful and BOGART AND MARY ASTOR (so unlike in the MALTESE FALCON) are a load of fun and fabulous together.No matter how well Mary Astor is thought of as an actress after all these years, she's still not thought of well enough.

  • Across the Pacific (1942)

    • Jay Higgins
    • 7/19/09

    This film has much to offer - espionage, romance, humor, World War II intrigue, spies, attempted bombings, action, suspense, blackmail, drama, mystery and adventure. A very entertaining mix and very successful. Fast paced, taut direction by John Huston, a great cast with the always good team of Humphrey Bogart, Mary Astor and Sidney Greenstreet. Never a dull moment.

  • For Sale - Only $50....or more

    • Morgan
    • 3/22/08

    If you want to add "Across The Pacific" to your home video library, you can do so IF you purchase a Bogart box set for $50, but you cannot purchase it alone.....I would expect such shell games from Amazon or B&N.....But, TCM? One cannot purchase "Across The Pacific" from TCM, without having to purchase a box collection??? Worse, the TCM website even links to eBay sellers who offer the single film (!)...TCM is better than this, and this single instance (not to mention many others) indicates that TCM should have a wholesale review of its entire Home Video operation.....This film should be available on dvd, as a single purchase film, from TCM....Simple as that. There is just no excuse for this.

  • Bogard during the War years

    • cbn
    • 4/9/06

    This film I first saw in 1984. I did not know of it's existance. Turner movies had only recently completed a colorized version of this film. Yet it is not noted anywhere on TCM archives. It was a great film to see in color and is a good film if you are a bogie fan. Where else can you see Bogard stop the Japan invasion of the Central America and the US held canal zone. If you like Bogard films this is a great classic to view.

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.