skip navigation
A River Runs Through It

A River Runs Through It(1992)

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

DVDs from TCM Shop

A River Runs Through It A preacher'''&#... MORE > $7.46 Regularly $9.99 Buy Now blu-ray

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • ?

    • Roberta
    • 2/20/19

    started watching, giving it my ful attention, seemed like this is likely to be an interesting and intelligent movie by artist Robert Redford. Beautiful scenery opening with Mr. Redford's thoughtful narration. Story starts, characters take the stage. let the action and the story begin and develop. come to life, make sense, have a cohehesive and coherent plot. No. Kept at it finally giving in to the elephant in the room saying, what's going on. Nothing is happening, this story continues to go nowhere, and now it's becoming excrutiatingly boring and tedious, and long long. A lot of long stares between the main characters. Kept trying, but finally had to quit, at the point where Paul is driving with his native American girlfriend and another friend, a pickup, both of whom are dazed, unkempt, slovenly, whorish though for the life of me I didn't understand why this is, and it's ugly with no rime or reason, to meet is brother waiting with his girlfriend. Waiting for something to happen, to make sense, and a reason to watch, and for this movie to be made, I had to give up on it and put myself out of my misery. I get the analogy and metaphor of fathers and sons, brother and brother. I started out wanting to like the movie. Sorry Mr. Redford, a little more sense, story, and action, and less conspicuous rather forced artistry.

    • 1/12/19

  • A River Runs Through A Very Dull Movie

    • Nina
    • 1/12/19

    Boring! Too long! Pretty scenery and beautifully filmed, but without an interesting story why should we watch this dull movie? The film feels like it's being shown in slow motion. Poor pacing,mediocre acting, ineffective directing. As usual, Brad Pitt is Brad Pitt just being posed and wearing costumes; the guy is incapable of depth.

  • Ageless

    • Paul
    • 1/7/18

    Sometimes a movie strikes the nerve of the viewer such that it harkens back to sweet memories. A River Runs through It can do that. As the younger viewer watches it, it becomes a good story and as he ages it makes a viewer feel things often forgotten. To me the movie's time in the early 1900's, it's location, the tragedy of the two brothers, and love and marriage of the one brother made for a compelling story when I first saw it in 1992. Then my life was about kids going to college. When I watch it now, it is not the story that is important, it is about the brothers, the trout fishing, the father, and the trout fishing. It re-creates a time in my life complete with memories of catching trout and throwing rocks into murky waters. I can feel and see my older brother and I standing by the streams we fished 65 years ago. I can see my father walking out of the meadows with a trout stream running through it. Those memories buried deep inside me, become real. As the character played by David Wayne says at the end, eventually all things merge into one and a river runs through it. Under the rocks are the words and some of the words are theirs. This movie is timeless for if you are young, you will find the story compelling and as you age if fortunate enough you will find in the movie feelings from when you were young.

  • a river runs through it

    • kevin sellers
    • 1/4/15

    It's lovely to look at, the acting is excellent (with one exception), the ending brings tears to your eyes. So why isn't this a better movie? Maybe because it fails at the most basic level of moviemaking, which is story. Simply put, the most interesting character in the film (obviously Brad Pitt's troubled Paul Maclean) is given a back seat to the rather stolid, ever so dull Norman (played by the ever so dull Craig Scheffer.) Scene after scene shows the ill effects of this bad storytelling decision. To take the most obvious example, the movie cries out for at least one example of conflict between libertine Paul and his minister father (well played by Tom Skerritt) but because the story is told entirely from Norman's POV such potentially powerful scenes are denied us and the closest we get to father son struggle is when eight year old Paul defies his dad by not eating his oatmeal! A second example focuses on Paul's love life. I don't know about you, but I could have done with a lot more of his relationship with that self destructive Native American girl and a lot less of Norman's extremely ordinary courtship of Jesse. That we still care when Paul meets his untimely end is more due to Pitt's great performance than it is to Richard Friedenberg's script. As for Redford, I guess he has to be given credit for directing Pitt, but he also has to be slapped around a little bit for gazing on Friedenberg's script and pronouncing it good. Give it a B minus. P.S. Brenda Blethyn is great as the mom. Too bad she does not have more to do, but she too is run over by the Craig Sheffer/Norman steamroller.

  • Piscine Poetic Gem

    • Will Fox
    • 1/3/15

    Multi-layered allegory teaches true-life lessons: love, brother's keeper, patience, grace, discernment, liquor leads to lust, intemperance sunburns fools, conceit kills physically and metaphorically. Plus Presbyterians believe Methodists are Baptists that can read. Brilliant cinematography enlightens the poetic meanings, binding brothers & preaching pa symbolically tied together in the fluid art of fly fishing.

  • Wonderful

    • Aurelia Anderson
    • 6/25/07

    Brad Pitt should have won all the awards if he didn't. All the actors were excellent.

  • A TRUE AMERICAN CLASSIC

    • Dan Rudy
    • 9/6/06

    This movie allows for the viewer to sit back and enjoy a well developed, directed,and performed story of what is family and friends. It rings as true today as the period of time that the film is set. Simply put it is a timeless representation of the human condition and how no matter how much we love someone we do not "control" anything that really matters. Yet this film allows for us to realize that it is ok, in fact, that is the way it has been and always will be. " I am haunted by waters.."-- Robert Redford does a masterful job of directing, producing, and narrating.

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.