skip navigation
Rio Grande

Rio Grande(1950)

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • Rio Grande on Olive Signature DVD

    • Jeffrey Kenison
    • 9/22/18

    I am very interested seeing this classic John Ford Western on Olive Signature DVD. I like John Wayne, Maureen O'Hara, Victor McLaglen, Ben Johnson, etc.

  • Ben Johnson is magnificient!!

    • Judy
    • 1/13/18

    I can watch this film over and over... especially the scenes with Mr. Ben Johnson - the best cowboy actor ever!!; seeing Mr. Johnson riding Roman style absolutely leaves me speechless every time I watch the film - I love horses and riding but to even try and attempt any of what he achieved on the screen would make me a cripple. I'll leave it to the experts - Mr. Johnson - what a legacy you have left behind... I'm in awe - simply amazing & breathtaking :-0. He certainly outshines the main actors/actresses in this film. All I can say is that the director, Mr. John Ford, knew how to utilize the talents of his actors and leave a lasting imprint for generations to watch...thank you.

  • Good Third Leg Of Trilogy

    • kencurtis
    • 2/12/17

    Thought this good enough to deserved being part of Cavalry Trilogy.Not up to quite excellence of She Wore A Yellow Ribbon,but good story.

  • rio grande

    • kevin sellers
    • 9/12/15

    Definitely the least good of the "Cavalry Trilogy." Biggest reason is the absence of conflict between Wayne's general and his enlisted private son. You pretty much know from the get go that the son will make the father proud by showing the qualities of a soldier and if you have any doubts they are immediately dispelled when the son emphatically tells his mother, (an uncharacteristically pallid Maureen O'Hara) about a third of the way through the film, that he has no intention of quitting the army and going back to civilian life with her. What we are left with, in the absence of a compelling story by screenwriter Kevin McGuiness, are lots of Sons Of The Pioneers songs, the usual tiresome Victor McLaglen comedy, some ok action scenes in which Ford indulges his typical anti Indian racism so typical of him pre "Searchers," and fine early performances from Ben Johnson and Harry Carey Jr. who are the only members of the cast who are fun to watch. Even the Duke, although it pains me to say it, is a bit on the dull side. Give it a very generous B minus simply because I cannot bear to give a John Ford western a C. P.S. If you want to see a good Duke picture with a believable father son conflict, check out "In Harms Way."

  • Rio Grande

    • Goetan
    • 1/23/14

    The final film in Director Ford's Calvary trilogy. Wayne is good as the estranged father and husband of Jarman,Jr. and O'Hara, respectively, who join his Calvary unit. More entertaining and action-oriented than than "Fort Apache" and "She Wore a Yellow Ribbon." A fine finale to a trilogy of masterfully-made films from Ford. I give it a 3.5/5.

  • Histoically inaccurate songs...

    • scurran007
    • 4/14/13

    Watching RIO Grande with John Wayne and Maureen O'Hara...You know, these songs that are in the movie are historically inaccurate to the time period...Like 15 miles of the Erie canal...The song was written in 1905...and this story takes place in the summer of 1879...yes the songs is about 1825 Building the Erie canal, but was written in 1905...Also Your in the Army now...was a song created in 1917!!!

  • Rio Grande (1950)

    • James Higgins
    • 2/7/10

    John Ford westerns are always good, but have always felt they are overrated. This is a good story, but I didn't see any "wow" factor in the western. It's just a notch above ordinary. Ford does develop his characters well though, and it is professionally done. John Wayne's wooden acting doesn't help.

  • The Best of the "Cavalry Trilogy"

    • David H.
    • 3/17/08

    This movie, to me, is clearly the best of John Ford's "Cavalry Trilogy". John Wayne is fine as usual and Maureen O'Hara, at age 30 when this film was made, has never been lovelier. The acting is fine throughout, especially Claude Jarman, Jr., as their son. His character grows in maturity in the film. Even Victor McLaughlin is believable is the guilt-ridden sargeant. Rio Grande is an example of an average script that with fine acting, good direction and cinemaphotography, and an excellent musicial score becomes an above average movie.

  • John Ford and Company

    • Norman Woodward
    • 3/12/06

    If I had one wish to make as far as movies go it would be to just be on the set of the making of this movie. BenJohnson, Harry Carey, Jr. and all thestunt men make this movie. The music isgreat, the acting is great and the actors (all) were made for John Ford. Wish I would have known him. Great American!

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.