skip navigation
The Good Humor Man

The Good Humor Man(1950)

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • good humor man

    • kevin sellers
    • 5/1/19

    Should be titled "The Mild Humor Man", which is about as good as a Jerry Lewis movie without Jerry Lewis gets. Solid C. PS...Eddie Muller should stick to noir.

  • What a waste

    • telzall
    • 4/24/19

    The most unfunny, unconvincing, waste of slapstick and cartoony stunts ever. The last fifteen minutes of non stop sight gags and physical humor is the most ridiculous unfunny waste of ideas. Only a five year old would find humor in this and I'd still want him tested for intelligence if he were my kid. Ed Muller's credulity takes a bit hit introducing this one as a worth while movie.

  • Loved it!

    • Bev
    • 4/17/19

    Came across this Sunday afternoon--it was exactly what I needed! The movie following it is a favorite of mine--Sweet Smell of Success--but I was looking for something to lift my spirits. And boy, did this deliver. I missed the beginning but will certainly watch for it again--I watched it alone and was sitting there laughing out loud! So very, very silly, but well constructed and moved at a good pace. Of course, Jack Carson is always a delight--even when he plays a dark character. And Lola Albright was a complete surprise--she more than matched him. And I loved the way she stepped up and beat up a good number of the bad guys--they both looked as if they were having a ball. Can't believe I had never seen it before--perhaps the title seemed more like a Red Skelton or Jerry Lewis "no laugh-fest." (Love Red Skelton, but some of his movies are not very good. Jerry Lewis was just never funny, to me anyway.) Anyway, thanks for this delightful little movie--don't wait too long to show it again.

  • Jack Carson

    • rammer
    • 4/14/19

    'good egg' kind of guy. died far too young.

  • Good Humor Man = Great Comedy

    • PCT in Alliance
    • 8/30/16

    I first saw this slapstick-fest as a young teen and fell in love with it. It introduced me to the great Jack Carson. I've since seen him in many, many movies on TCM. He basically played the same guy in every role, but that's okay because he was a very likeable, amiable, expressive and flexible guy. Thanks to TCM for showing this and other wonderful films.

  • I give this 1 okay

    • Herman Munster
    • 1/28/16

    Comedy in rare form....the kind that's not funny. I WANT a funny that tickles me greener.....is that asking so much. This picture screams for a contemporary remake starring, Adam Sandler, as a depressed good Humor man. In hopes of regaining his girl friend, Drew Barrymore, attention, he will try to make a go at his new business located, yes, "straight out of Compton." After finding his grand father's old good humor ice cream truck from the fifties, he decides what a cool way to earn some quick cash to enter this summer's Texas hold em tournament in Vegas and at the same time bring a solid hearted warm ideal from the fifties, selling real ice cream from a truck, to the little boys and girls of 2016 Compton.... It's him and Monoey maker at the final table where, yes, he wins large....enough to purchase Dan Tana' s Vagas homestead and the good humor brand. He plans to take Good humor nation wide once again, but soon runs into trouble when Unemployed Will Ferrell is trying to relive his grandfather's hay day as a 1950's Mafioso in his mafia reenactment group made up of his unemployed friends and one retired ex one time real mafia man played by Robert De niro. Ferrell's idea to demand protection money from Sandler leads to a series of Key stone cop's like mishaps that would even leave dumb and dumber scratching their heads. So there's the premise for a real comedy boys....now it's up to you guys to make it happen....good luck and good night!

  • "The Good Humorman"

    • Gary
    • 12/27/13

    Best Comdey of the 1940's and 1950's....Jack Carson at his "BEST"!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • One of the 20 Best Screwball Comedies

    • Dr. Charles G. Waugh
    • 12/28/11

    The Good Humor Man is, in my opinion, one of the twenty best screwball comedies of all time. Its extended slapstick climax is unforgettable. Along with five other forgotten screwball gems--Let George Do It! (1940), Love Crazy (1941), Nothing But the Truth (1941), Hellzapoppin (1942), and Who's Minding the Store? (1963)--, it deserves individual DVD release.

  • Niatpac Levram!

    • Mr. Blandings
    • 8/12/11

    This movie starts out cute and mildly entertaining but quickly turns into one fall-on-the-floor funny film, mainly due to the comedic talents of Jack Carson and some outrageously and ridiculously staged physical comedy routines! George Reeves is super in his relatively small part as the romantic rival. It is also ironic that Superman is the villain in a movie filled with Captain Marvel references, since in real life Superman and Cap were rivals in the courtroom. This is a comedy classic that you can watch over and over and still get in some good laughs.

  • The Good Humor Man

    • Helen
    • 9/18/10

    I have not seen this movie since I was a young girl, and that was a LONG time ago, but I will never forget it. Jack Carson is hilarious and I have not laughted that hard at a movie in a very long time. I would love to watch this movie over and over. Imagine, a movie with no sex, no foul words and no nudity and is so wonderful that I can't say enough good things about it.

  • The Best Jack Carson Movie

    • Posh
    • 7/27/09

    Jack Carson is a great actor. For this comedy genre, he surpassed Red Skelton during this era. I would love to his this movie in my classic collection. Please make it happen during my lifetime! I watched this as a child, and cannot get it out of my mind. I laughed until I cried!

  • Great Comedy

    • Daniel Aguilar
    • 7/26/09

    This is a worth watching comedy.I do not believe this is a copy of another worth watching comedy of this time, the fuller brush man. Watch it and judge for your self. You won't be disappointed.

  • Simply awful

    • Jack The Hat
    • 7/21/08

    Good humor? Absolutely not! This is a remake of "The Fuller Brush Man" and a poor attempt at it. Miss it if you can. It's lousy!!

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.