skip navigation
Tarzan and His Mate

Tarzan and His Mate(1934)

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • rumble that jungle.

    • a.morris
    • 1/20/18

    for those of you wanting a different tarzan in the movies..great news..the timing is right. since that salad guard..or what ever his last name is.. flopped with his version of tarzan..the ivory coast is clear. i submit.. tarzan is suppose to be british.. ergo..idris elba time. that is right buddy..no more fake American accent for you. we can all see that awesome this and that everyone says you have. but that is not all.. we can have a female tarzan movie down the road..just call her tarzan..do not change the name.. whole lot of people could play her.. England and Africa and india have a lot of great female acting talent..just keep an eye and ear out.do not despair..there can still be a white tarzan too. only.. he has to look more like an ape pudgy..not that clean..more savage.also..to make him interesting..love triangle with a human woman and a female ape. of course the white ape tarzan must have poop as humor and a weapon. sorry..guess whitey still has some perks.i know all this crap sounds stupid..but some place ..a studio chief is thinking.. well..this movie was part of a film series that people may have enjoyed.it was not the best of a film series and it was not the worst.it became the lead acting talents legacy. if salad guard did not bury the idea of any more tarzan movies.. we will see if someone else has a legacy of their own.

  • The Best Tarzan Movie

    • Bluewater
    • 4/3/15

    This is the best TARZAN movie ever filmed. Johnny does a great job playing the role. Considering how bad most other TARZAN movies are from other studios, it's convincing on several levels. The action is non-stop and it seems that after the safari gets there TARZAN doesn't get a chance to relax. Sadly it was all down hill from here for future MGM TARZAN films. They are still the best but none equal this. The next movie TARZAN Escapes could have been as good, but we all know that story and how that film turned out.

  • Tarzan and Blah, Blah, Blah ...

    • Mr. Blandings
    • 8/4/12

    Weissmuller proves, once again, that he can't act his way out of a rear-projection jungle. Not that this script requires anything remotely approaching acting. Hard to believe Clark Gable was offered the role of Tarzan. It would have had to be an entirely different production with entirely different production values to warrant an actor of his callibre. The pulp novel these horrible excuses for B-movies are based on aren't much better--just as violent, just as racially offensive, just as stupid.

  • 20 years too soon

    • jack
    • 5/21/11

    If only this film had been made when Playboy was around, what a fascinating pictorial it could have done with Maureen O'Sullivan (no double needed!) posing au natural, such an adorable face and a beguiling body!

  • Rated better then Tarzan The Ape Man

    • jesse
    • 4/8/11

    At the time it was released Tarzan an his Mate was rated by critics, fans as better then the first, and it is, this is the most action filled nonstop film you will ever see, and O'Sullivan did not do the nude scene, a double did, and neither the double or Weismmuller were nude they wore body suits. But there are many near nude shots, certain people after the film came out did not like the lack of clothing, and in the next film Tarzan Escapes the clothes for Tarzan and Jane were longer to cover more.

  • Tarzan and his mate

    • dawn pollock
    • 4/2/11

    You do not see these types of movies anymore, the synopsis is non existant anymore. I just love these types of movies plus the first one, Tarzan the ape man. They just are fantastic old movies, just like the action movies, murder mysteries, crime dramas, like Charlie Chan and The Thin man for an example oh before I forget the comdies like eastside kids that became the dead end kids and then became bowery boys I absolutely love the bowery boys movies and I love when TCM shows the bowery boys every saturday, well getting back to the subject at hand, When I first saw the old cut out section of Tarzan and his mate the nude scene I was delighted that it was restored because you pretty much know why it was removed because it was a time factor because it is about 15minutes long so thats why. But I will say it again I love this movie!! I really do not think old movies should have been hacked like they were even if done for time frame factor!! Thank you Dawn

  • interesting

    • amy
    • 1/6/11

    I just love the idea of Tarzan and Jane teaching each other about the joy and ecstasy of sexual union!

  • love that jane

    • don
    • 1/6/11

    I've read that Maureen O'sullivan did not do the nude scene, that a double was used because Maureen was not as good a swimmer as they wanted. However that is Maureen falling from the tree totally naked and there are contrary reports that she is also the underwater swimmer. With that skimpy jungle outfit she certainly would have had no qualms about being nude. She has to be the cutest little gal in films.

  • Tarzan and His mate (1934)

    • James Higgins
    • 3/14/10

    80/100. One of the best of all the Tarzan films, and the second one with Johnny Weissmuller. Great pace, always of interest, good performances and the controversial nude swimming scene. Great film making.Good cinematography and an excellent pace. The fine quality of the production is one of the reasons the series was so successful.

  • special information on this film!!!

    • Mr. sardonicus
    • 6/29/08

    the script that was shot was NOT the origional script!! I just happen to have a copy of the origional script that was never filmed!!!More info @natamerinnovations@ hotmail.com...Mr. Sardonicus****

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.