skip navigation
Quentin Durward

Quentin Durward(1955)

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

DVDs from TCM Shop

Quentin Durward A gallant Scots knight falls... MORE > $14.36 Regularly $17.99 Buy Now

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • I Liked It

    • betterthanexpected
    • 11/8/15

    And it has the great Martin Clunes' father,Alec as one of the stars.Mr Clunes was the reason I tuned in one of the previous showings.Thought Taylor better than Ivanhoe and Knights,and agree with Keith,Taylor excels over Costner's half-baked Robin Hood!

  • Watch for Kay Kendalls' exquisitely funny parody

    • film nut 293
    • 5/20/15

    Quentin Durward works best as a parody. Everyone in it seems to have gotten the joke except Robert Taylor, the director, and MGM. A pity--if everyone had been in on the joke, this might have been a comedy classic. The screenplay sets Quentin Durward up as not very bright in the films first scene. Kay Kendall has an excellent establishing scene which she plays straight, where she declares she won't be treated as a mans' chattel. She plays the rest of the film as a parody of all the "damsel-in-distress" dramas. The scene near the end where she is flitting about the castle library, crying out "the runes (rooms?) are here somewhere" (MGMs sound recording stunk) that is intercut with shots of a literally flaming battle in the belfry between Taylor and someone (symbolic bats in the belfry?) had me laughing so hard I missed the ending. Robert Morley is notably funny as Louis XI of France. When he wakes up to Taylors' dagger at his throat, Morley offers him a drink--in 1950's style crystal glasses. Kendall looks ravishing in a series of what looks to be 1950's high necked dresses with petticoats. Kendall died far too early, of tuberculosis (in 1959, I think.) Good stunt work, especially in the bats (sorry, battle) in the belfry scene. Three stars out of five for my overall rating.

  • Make it stop!

    • David
    • 5/19/15

    Robert Taylor is probably the worst actor I can think of. Why TCM keeps showing us this junk is beyond me.

  • TAYLOR A TRUE KNIGHT OF OLD....

    • KEITH BROWN
    • 8/17/13

    This film was the last of Taylor's swashbucklers and it was a nice one to leave the genre with. There is color, great sets, pageantry, action, good supporting cast-and a lovely leading lady in Kay Kendall also with a sense of humor.( Sorry Taylor missed out on costarring with Grace Kelly) IVANHOE has the larger supporting cast and is very well done but QUENTIN DURWARD has its charm and the sense of humor helps the film to hit the right points. The idea that chivalry was on its way out. Granted Taylor's mid western accent does not suggest a knight of old. However Taylor's demeanor and gentleness of manner makes this role ,and his other costumers, work for me. Certainly Stewart Granger could play heroes and villains of other time periods-but Taylor had that something that made you believe in him as a knight struggling with changing times, staying true to his code and rescuing his lady fair! Personally I would take Taylor as QUENTIN DURWARD over Kevin Costner as ROBIN HOOD any day...

  • Grace Kelly in the Notes

    • Barry Lane
    • 5/11/12

    Whatever Green Fire is, it is not a costume drama. So, if Kelly did not want to play in Quentin Durward that cannot be the reason.

  • Love this movie

    • FlapjackPatch
    • 8/20/11

    Though I have seen this movie only few times, it has become one of my favorites.Robert and Kay are lovely together, and I wish they had been in more movies together.Wonderful movie for anyone who loves Classic movies!

  • In Three Words or Less

    • Chris B.
    • 6/4/11

    This movie stinks. Although I have always liked Robert Taylor to some degree I do not find him believable in any period piece I have ever seen him in, including "Quo Vadis." He was a very handsome man and he did, at times, command your attention in some roles but I find his vocal inflections simply too American to be real. Taylor did come to stardom through the studio system and I have always thought they should have insisted he work with a dialect coach for these types of roles. Despite a cast that included Robert Morley, this film simply did not hit the mark.

  • A great discovery

    • Jack Wilkinson
    • 5/21/07

    As a Sir Walter Scott fan I was delighted to discover this movie that I had never seen. Very enjoyable. It has a lot of tongue in cheek humor which the subject matter deserves.

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.