skip navigation
Naughty Marietta

Naughty Marietta(1935)

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

DVDs from TCM Shop

Naughty Marietta A French princess in Colonial... MORE > $15.96 Regularly $19.99 Buy Now

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • Lifelong Memory

    • Linda
    • 2/3/13

    Saw it in a theater as a special night classic film showing in late 50's early 60's. As a young woman took my mom and 4 gradeschooler relatives to see it and also other Jeanette MacDonald Nelson Eddie movies during the classic showings. Stayed in my memory since. No singing in any movie since compares to the beauty and presentation of Jeanette, Eddie, solo, and in duets. "Ah Sweet Mystery of Life At Last I've Found You, Oh At Last I Know The Meaning of It All! All the longing, seeking, striving, waiting, yearning; The burning hopes the joy and idle tears that fall; For 'tis love and love alone the world is seeking, And 'tis love and love alone that can repay, 'Tis the answer 'tis the end and all of living; For it is love alone that rules for all. (something like that). Really sorry we have been robbed of beautiful songs and lyrics for so long now. Tragic. Dumbed Down Society.

  • naughty Marietta

    • Evie
    • 12/16/10

    Lovely singing duo

  • Naughty Marietta on DVD - PLEASE!

    • Joan
    • 12/29/09

    I saw Naughty Marietta when I was a very little girl and enjoyed it so much. The voices of Jeanette MacDonald and Nelson Eddy in this film, New Moon and many of the others they made was a joy to listen to and this duo has never been and will never be replaced in movies to this date. I wish this marvelous pair would have a DVD compilation done for the world and all to see and enjoy 70 years after the fact.

  • A great Nostalgic Musical

    • Derek Pedro
    • 6/8/09

    I firstsaw this movie back in late 50'sin my mid teens and always repeatedly manytimes over. I'm almost 70 now and still get goosebumps when I hear the duet byNelson & Jeanette with "Ah;Sweet MysteryOf Life"at last I found you.(Very nice memories indeed)Thank you very much T C M . com

  • Excellent singing duets in an interesting story.

    • Reliable Reviews
    • 8/12/07

    "Naughty Marietta", is a wholesome film, unlike the name may imply. Her naughtiness is running away from an arranged marriage to a villain. Not a formal stage production, but a story, set in France and the American colonies in the 1700's. Pirates. Pioneers. Romance. Nelson tries so hard to woo Jeanette, a theme in their films. Great songs and duets. Nelson and Jeanette have a chemistry together. Nelson Eddy, and Jeanette MacDonald are great singers. The sets and costumes take you there. The characters are appealing. The story is interesting, with charm. Some humor. The songs fit smoothly as part of the story. Singing a song, while hiking through the woods, fits the story. Jeanette wears a stunning dress, early in the film, that they don't make anymore, even in the movies; too bad for you fashion people, they didn't have color film. Good acting by Frank Morgan who played the wizard, in the "Wizard of Oz"; and Elsa Lanchester, who played the nanny who quits in "Mary Poppins"; in their much earlier years. Other excellent, Jeanette MacDonald / Nelson Eddy musicals are, their best, "Maytime", and "Girl of the Golden West", which has Buddy Ebsen, (Jed Clampett) in his 20's; "Rose Marie", in the Canadian Rockies, is pleasant too, but not as exceptional. These movies are hidden gems for those who love a classic movie of romance, story, charm, characters, and exceptional singing.

  • Memories

    • Susan
    • 7/17/07

    I saw this movie for the first time with my mother who loved opera. I was reserved at first, just wanting to sit with her to watch one of her favorite movies. Well, after the movie I was hooked!! I purchased the video and have watched it MANY times and would love for it to be released on DVD....hope it happens soon!!

  • Young Memories

    • Valerie
    • 8/29/06

    When I first saw this movie I was about 8 and at my grandfather's house. He was babsitting me and made me sit down and watch this movie. It was love at first sight. Ever since then every time I go over to his house I sit down and watch this one very first.

  • "Sweet Memories"

    • Mercy
    • 7/11/06

    I first saw this movie in 1958. I was in the seventh grade, and it was mandatory that we watch it in music class. I fell in love with it. I bought the movie sometime in the 80's and have seen it hundreds of times since than. Wish it was on DVD before I wear out the tape.

  • ah sweet mystery

    • Heather
    • 3/6/06

    This was the very first Nelson Eddy and Jeanette MacDonald movie I ever saw. I was 11 or maybe 12.It was the Dialing for Dollars movie on channle nine in Orlando Florida. I fell in love, and have adored them ever since.

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.