skip navigation
A Date with Judy

A Date with Judy(1948)

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

DVDs from TCM Shop

A Date with Judy A teenager thinks her father... MORE > $15.95 Regularly $17.99 Buy Now

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • a date with judy

    • kevin sellers
    • 6/12/19

    I'm only two films into TCM's Jane Powell month...and I'm already looking forward to Glenn Ford in July! And when you're anticipating an actor as unexciting as ol jut jaw you know things are pretty damn dull in Turnerland.

  • Wallace Beery's tie!!

    • Judy
    • 3/5/19

    In 1948 how could anyone really have someone wear a necktie that looks so much, so close to a Nazi swastika!

  • Question

    • Julie
    • 11/1/14

    Is this the movie where the girl is crying in her room on her bed and says " I wish I was dead," and her mother replies (correcting her grammar), "I wish I WERE dead"? I realize this isn't a review but was hoping someone could help! thanks

  • Sweet Sixteen

    • BT
    • 7/16/14

    RE A Date With Judy is a Mishap! Chris B. 6/15/11Elizabeth Taylor was 16 when this film was made and released. Jane Powell a couple of years older, I think.

  • A Date With Judy is a Mishap!

    • Chris B.
    • 6/15/11

    The only actor who might be assumed to be a 16 year old is Scotty Beckett. Both Jane Powell and Elizabeth Taylor are too old for their parts as is Robert Stack. In real life, Stack was ten years older than they were at the time and we are expected to believe that a 26 year old man is escorting Judy (Jane Powell) to the school dance. As this little story moves along both Judy and her best friend, Carol Pringle (Elizabeth Taylor) both fall in love with Stephen (Robert Stack) and Judy leaves Oogie (Scotty Beckett) in the dust. Wallace Beery, as Judy's father, has a secret. He wants to surprise his wife of twenty years by learning the Rumba from none other than Carmen Miranda! Rosita (Miranda) is engaged to Xavier Cugat and while she is teaching Melvin Foster (Beery) the rumba Judy misinterprets this and believes her father is having an affair with Rosita. Carmen Miranda is the only highlight of this film (isn't she always?).

  • A date with Judy

    • carol gershman
    • 1/6/11

    How I loved this happy up beat film when I was a kid. Jane Powell singing and Elizebeth... Please release to bring back those wonderful memories.

  • A date with Judy

    • SB
    • 8/16/10

    I love this movie because I was born and raised in SB, where the beginning shots were filmed. I happened to come across this movie by channel surfing and seeing the opening credits. I recognized the view of the SB beach and mountains. The 1940s footage of our downtown area is priceless, and the SBHS scenes are fun because our school colors ARE Olive and Gold. Oogie's school sweater is green with the SB on the pocket. Kinda fun. Elizabeth Taylor is STUNNING in this movie, and I always liked Scotty Beckett (Jolson story). Just an all around cute movie!

  • A Date with Judy (1948)

    • James Higgins
    • 3/31/10

    I enjoyed this more than I was expecting. Just seeing Wallace Beery rumba with Carmen Miranda was worth watching the film for! Great score, nicely done songs. The costume design is good. The very young Elizabeth Taylor is clearly budding into one of the greatest beauties to grace the screen. Solid support from Selena Royle and Leon Ames, It doesn't rank among the greatest musicals ever made, but it is light, entertaining and fun.

  • An Essential

    • aisha jackson
    • 11/9/08

    This movie is such a wonderful presentation of two very dazzling young actresses. Elizabeth Taylor and Jane Powell in color is the way anyone should want to spend their Friday nights. If you enjoy young beauties, latin dancing, and adolescent love, then this is certainly something that you must see. This is Jane Powell at her best and Elizabeth Taylor impressively satisfying as usual. A Date with Judy.

  • Now on DVD from Warner (limited)

    • Glenn
    • 11/12/07

    Despite the note here, this movie has quietly been released on DVD by Warner on Nov. 6, 2007. However, for now it is apparently available only at DeepDiscount.com. Not sure how long that exlusive will last.

  • Great Elizabeth Taylor Movie

    • Phil G
    • 8/18/06

    Great movie featuring very young Elizabeth Taylor and very young Jane Powell - great older generation teen movie.

  • GREAT late-night movie

    • Kathryn
    • 7/5/06

    One night I was up late writing papers for my English class. I couldn't focus very well because I'd been writing papers for about four hours straight. I turned on TCM to see if any movies were on, and on came <i>A Date with Judy</i>. I started watching it and was hooked. The simple plot-line coupled with high-school innocence, great music, and talented actors made this movie one of my favorites.

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.