skip navigation
The Spiral Staircase

The Spiral Staircase(1946)

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • Borrowed by Hitchcock

    • Nick Harrell
    • 1/3/17

    The same basic framework for this film was borrowed by the "Alfred Hitchcock Hour" in the 1960's to produce a very frightening episode called "An Unlocked Window". Same serial killer running loose, same old dark mansion, same stormy night, same recurrence of the unlocked window. However, Hitchcock puts his own special twist ending into the formula, and before you can realize, it is like being hit over the head. You will have to see it for yourself!

  • Put this up for sale

    • Janice Machado
    • 7/22/15

    I wonder why when a person wants to buy this movie you do not have it in the shop section to purchase. You have other ones with same title, but nothing will ever be better than this one.

  • Atmospheric Siodmak

    • el debbo
    • 5/22/15

    He could really set the light-and-shadows scene. Two things really got to me at the beginning of the story, after the lame girl had been murdered: Dorothy McGuire's trip through this creepy b&w countryside...it's brief, but where do they get these locations? AND Dot McGuire rat-a-tatting that stick along the fence in the SUDDEN stormy darkness.We see the spying eye twice by then, and "starry-eyed man" is in the credits as Stanley Price. Uh-huh. I was sure it wasn't George Brent, but actually figured it to be Francis Lederer (The Return of Dracula 1958). Looked like his peeper.

  • The Spiral Staircase

    • Goetan
    • 1/17/15

    A superb and effectively-eerie thriller. McGuire is a mute servant girl being stalked by a serial killer, Barrymore was Oscar-nominated for her role as McGuire's bullying employer who warns her to leave. The atmospheric lighting add to the hidden danger and a story that will keep viewers asking questions until the end. Safe and entertaining. I give it a 4/5.

    • 10/15/11

  • tingly

    • chris
    • 7/12/11

    suspensful.

  • The Spiral Staircase

    • Tom
    • 7/10/11

    ***** A taut spine tingling film noir. The film has your attention from the outset. The movie is also aided with a great cast.

  • The Viral Bad Taste

    • Parke Bernet
    • 7/7/11

    This is an odd movie with performances that are just this side of bad TV. I'm baffled why this is considered a classic. It is not in the same league as many of the films produced in that era. The spiral staircase itself appears to be an after thought. It has little to do with the plot. Nothing ties together. Ethel Barrymore acts from her bed, and one can understand why she chose to sleep through many of her scenes. Elsa Lanchester clung to the comfort of brandy. This is a sad case of wasting superb talent - and a grand house - on a screenplay that must have been written on the back of cocktail napkin after one too many. It's not worth watching twice.

  • The Spiral Staircase

    • Lynn Coleman
    • 2/10/10

    I loved this movie. The film noir feel to it was fabulous. I also loved the comic relief from Mr. Oates and wife. Dorothy McGuire was so perfectly young and vulnerable looking and fit the role so well. It kind of reminding me of the movie I saw in my teens, Wait until Dark, in that it had the same anticipatory feel that kept one on edge.

  • Indelible Staircase

    • Bob Hendrick
    • 12/31/08

    I first saw this film when it was released (I was about 7), and I still get chills watching it today. Dorothy Maguire speaks volumes in the role of girl whose is an hysterical mute, due to a horrifying experience in her past. Black and white cinematography at it's best; capturing the gothic nature of this excellent thriller.

  • Sweet Movie!

    • CJ
    • 5/24/08

    I saw this movie on TCM not too long ago and i liked it so much i bought the DVD. I really liked the set the most, having some pychopath casing after you in a dark gothlic mansion would make Batman shreek like a 12 yr old school girl. I think pepole who are into murder mysteries will love this movie for its suspense and supprises.

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.