skip navigation
The Great Sinner

The Great Sinner(1949)

Up
Down

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

DVDs from TCM Shop

The Great Sinner A young man succumbs to... MORE > $14.95 Regularly $17.99 Buy Now

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • Definitely worth repeat viewings

    • Jasmine
    • 4/6/17

    Very entertaining film worth repeat viewings. One of Gregory Peck's best. I usually don't agree with Leo Maltin's ratings and I certainly don't agree with his 2.5 star rating on this one.

  • Gambling fever!

    • Janine
    • 5/13/16

    I enjoyed this movie so much, and I have to say that the lead characters played their parts to the hilt. I would enjoy watching this movie again. So true to life the emotions, the highs and lows of gambling.

  • Gregory Peck At His Best !

    • DON RILEY
    • 11/3/15

    I think this is a vastly underrated performance by Gregory Peck, here. He contributes a multitude of emotions in this role and they all work. He has an excellent supporting cast. Ava Gardner is good , but I believe this is one of Gregory Peck's finest acting jobs. Although it will never appear in print that way. This also is a better film than it gets credit for. Five Stars.............

  • "The Great Sinner" - The Horrors of Addiction

    • Raymond Banacki
    • 11/2/15

    Just a correction to the introduction, Christopher Isherwood is not the author of "Cabaret"; he is the author of the celebrated collection of short stories, "Berlin Stories".

  • the great sinner

    • kevin sellers
    • 1/8/15

    There are certain actors who can take a so so script and make it great. Unfortunately, Gregory Peck and Ava Gardner are not those actors. For a movie with them in it to be great or even good you need writing of a high order, like Horton Foote/Harper Lee (To Kill A Mockingbird) or Joseph Mankewiecz (Barefoot Contessa) provide, and with apologies to the great novelist Christopher Isherwood, the screenplay for this movie is far from his best work. Therefore, despite a fine supporting cast (Melvin Douglas, Walter Huston, Frank Morgan et al) and some interesting takes on gambling addiction, this film is a bit of a snore. Give it a C plus.

  • Did Gregory Peck die?

    • Jim Miller
    • 10/3/14

    My DVR was out of sync with the TCM settings, and I missed the end of the movie. I last saw Peck sick in bed being consoled by Ava Gardner.Would somebody who might read this review, please email me at shamusjm2@comcast.net and let me know how it ended.Thanks

  • Classico mesmo

    • Sonia
    • 10/30/10

    Um classico da melhor qualidade com o Gregory e Ava juntos que trata sobre o vcio do jogo. Uns dos melhores filmes que j vi.

  • O Grande Pecador....grande classico

    • Sonia
    • 10/25/10

    Este filme um grande classico. Uns dos melhores filmes que j vi da Ava Gardner e do Gregory Perck. Eles juntos tornam o filme interessante.

  • The Great Sinner

    • judy d
    • 8/4/10

    This was one of the best classics I have seen in a long time. This movie kept me so involved with the characters and their wonderful acting, not to mention Pauline's (Ava Gardner's) beauty and consuming love for Fedja (Gregory Peck), and his obsessive gambling and love for her, but also the intriguing theme of this exciting film. I would love to purchase this film and view time to time to refresh my memory of how one can get so obsessed with another person or action! What a terrific film....

  • the great sinner

    • pamela laverty
    • 3/19/10

    Ava Gardner at her most beautiful and Gregory Peck at his most delicate and loveable. HE TAKES YOUR BREATH AWAY!

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.