skip navigation
Mystery Street

Mystery Street(1950)

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • old..cranky and wants me film noir.

    • a.morris
    • 4/15/18

    the story itself was ok. it is a part of entertainment history. it with other stories birthed tv shows and some movies of today. as for this as film noir.. did not feel it. low energy..no spark to be called that. if you are going to have something about film noir.. show something film noir. feel like gene siskel after seeing a tony danza movie when he said.. maybe I will retire.

  • Montalban The Star

    • ricardo
    • 4/15/18

    Mr Montalban,as a Barnstable detective proves once and for all that he earned stardom given to those that were seriously lacking in talent,but became stars by lying down.About time that Hollywood sleazeballs have their worlds come crashing down after exploiting so many,destroying fragile psyches with their vision of scarecrows as the ideal man or woman,and what's in your pants as being all that matters.An A claas picture,fine support from Marshall Thompson,Sally Forrest,Betsy Blair,Bruce Bennett (another actor who deserved more accolades).

  • Passable...

    • RedRain
    • 6/19/15

    I'm fairly demanding about film noir, as it's my favorite film genre, and this one is average but made a bit better by Elsa Lanchester leaving the ditsy roles and really putting in some acting chops here as a creepy and larcenous boardinghouse keeper. I also enjoyed seeing Richardo Montalban in a serious role. There's a great deal of talking in this film and it isn't terse and most of it isn't even needed. I'm glad I viewed this in the Summer of Noir series this year but it's not a film I'd view again.

  • Young Marrieds in Trouble!

    • Raymond Banacki
    • 5/31/15

    Sally Forrest and Marshall Thompson lend their appealing personas to this police procedureal - he is believed to be the murderer of a B girl and she isn't really able to believe any of it. The problem with the film is that the murderer is known to the audience early on. Still, all of the actors and the director do their best to turn the film into an engrossing experience. And the screenplay, an early excursion into forensic science. is always interesting.

  • mystery street

    • kevin sellers
    • 10/28/14

    Ordinary in every respect. Ok, I like the Boston location shooting and Bruce Bennet was excellent as the Harvard forensics expert (complete with an incongruous Texas drawl that somehow adds to his interest) and yes I'm willing to admit that this film anticipates the spate of Dick Wolf style TV police procedurals that came in the 1970s and after, but just as I am left underwhelmed by all the Law And Order and NCIS stuff so am I underwhelmed here. I expected more from the writer/director of Blackboard Jungle and Crossfire and the director of Bad Day At Black Rock and The Great Escape than this pallid drama. Ricardo Montalban certainly doesn't overact. If anything, he underacts. You simply don't buy that his character is tormented by doubt. Torment would imply emotion and there isn't much of that going on in Montalban's performance. The other performances range from scenery chewing (Elsa Lanchester, who in this movie seems to channel the worst of Shelly Winters) to downright dull (Ann Forest, as the wife of the falsely accused killer.) Jan Sterling's pretty good, as usual, but she's only in it for a minute. As for suspense, there is none, since at no point is anyone we care about in the slightest danger. Actually, there is no one we care about, which is this movie's biggest flaw. Give it a C.

  • ELSA LANCHESTER WAS SLEAZY, BUT GREAT!

    • MARLENE RANTZ
    • 12/12/13

    I enjoyed this movie very much, and was fascinated to see how they can catch a murderer just by the evidence from the crime scene! Everyone in the cast was excellent(I never even heard of Edmon Ryan so his excellent performance was somewhat of a surprise), and, as noted by mymopar70, Elsa Lanchester may have been sleazy, but she was most certainly great! In fact, I think she stole the movie!

  • Mystery Street Terrific!

    • Fz
    • 11/25/13

    Once, and yet again, Leonard Maltin proves he knows far less about films than about cabbage!This John Sturges' directed, Richard Brooks' co-written, John Alton (wow!) photographed gem is terrific!And you get a bit of an early Jan sterling and a lot ( thankfully!) of an early Ricardo Montalban who despite living in the US for a far shorter time than the villain he still demands and gets respect.Watch in tandem with Bad Day At Black Rock another remarkable film by John SturgesAnd avoid that chuckle head Maltin at all costs

  • MUST SEE SOLID CRIME NOIR THRILLER

    • mymopar70
    • 1/5/11

    This is an excellent film in the Crime noir/Police procedural vein; with similarity to "Naked City" and "Pickup On South Street".This is an early effort by director John Sturges. Prior to a recent screening on TCM, I had never heard of this film before. But BOY AM I GLAD I SAW IT!!There are items in this film that I am ASTONISHED that they got away with in 1950!! The police investigative aspects are OUTSTANDING!! And I know that personally. This film goes into the forensic aspects of the crime which are rare for Crime noir thrillers but add an extra dimension to this film.Lead Ricardo Montalban conveys the right amount of wonder and cynicism for a veteran Detective. The rest of the cast is superior also. I have never seen Elsa Lanchester in such a sleazy role.The story is solid and believable and this film COULD EASILY BE MADE TODAY. The realism is on target.I do not want to give many points away about this film but invite the viewer to experience it for themselves.THANK YOU TCM for showing forgotten/little known gems like this one!!

  • Decent detective story

    • Emgee
    • 10/29/10

    Well-made, but fairly undistinguished murder investigation story, which focuses mainly on police and forensic procedures.It was probably very unusual when it was made to go into so much detail about the methods of investigating murder, but since then we've seen this thousands of times on film and tv.Because there's not much drama, the viewer doesn't really get involved.Eminently watchable, but not very memorable.

  • Mystery Street (1950)

    • James Higgins
    • 1/17/10

    Compelling film noir, good cast and an interesting choice of actors. Nicely photographed. The writing is excellent and makes the great pac of the film. It's an interesting story and very engrossing.

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.