skip navigation
The War Against Mrs. Hadley

The War Against Mrs. Hadley(1942)

Contribute

FOR The War Against Mrs. Hadley (1942) YOU CAN

UPLOAD AN IMAGE SUBMIT A VIDEO OR MOVIE CLIP ADD ADDITIONAL INFORMATION WRITE YOUR OWN REVIEW

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • The War vs Mrs. Hadley

    • Albert Collins
    • 5/17/19

    Good movie. What I always find cloying is the way Mrs. Hadley ( and the other Washington matrons) speak. they have this phony British accent and this snotty tone (all Katherine Hepburn's films), Did the American rich in the 1930's and 1940's really speak this way?

  • Well Presented, Patriotic WWII Movie

    • Jim Smith
    • 3/2/17

    Well acted and paced sometime soapy movie captured my attention as few recent can. I am biased as I clearly recall reading the Sunday paper on a mild day in Kansas City MO Dec. 7, 1941 when my next door neighbor burst into his front yard yelling something about the Japs having bombed Pearl Harbor and that our navy would end the war in months. Well acted across the board highlighted by Bainter, Arnold, Jean Rogers and Van Johnson.

  • The War Against Mrs Hadley

    • Eva Hann
    • 8/24/16

    Enjoyed watching this movie///Hope TCM will replay it again....Would love to Purchase it.Thank you.

  • The War Against Mrs Hadley

    • Karen Earle
    • 6/25/16

    The War Against Mrs Hadley....loved this movie ...Would love to have this on DVD.... MANY THANKS.

  • mrs hadley

    • kevin sellers
    • 2/28/16

    Dumb movie about the "problem" of isolationism AFTER Pearl Harbor. Hint: There was none. So, while it's amusing to see Republicans routinely bashed and Spring Byington's ditzy Washington society matron is similarly diverting, there is not much else about this movie to hold one's interest and a lot that is downright dull, like the "love interest" with the ever plodding Van Johnson and non talented Jean Rogers. Give it a generous C 'cause I don't want to come across as Charlie, the conscientious objector. P.S. The filmmakers should have come up with a better way of establishing Pearl Harbor Day in Act 1. Like simply a close up of the Democratic newspaper that Fay Bainter orders out of her house. I mean, have you ever seen an actual DATE on a BIRTHDAY cake? Didn't think so. It's a small thing, but symptomatic of the general clunkiness of this movie.

  • A great movie

    • J. Bosche
    • 8/4/15

    I saw his movie for the first time on TCM. I fell in love with this movie. I tried to purchase the movie but found out it was not on Dvd. Is there any way TCM could play this movie again on TV? Thank You

  • the war against mrs hadley

    • k hann
    • 3/7/13

    enjoyed this 1942 movie --the war against mrs Hadley -- would like to obtain a dvd of this movie -thank you -- k hann

    • 2/3/13

  • Favorite WW II home front movie

    • Iamdorothy430
    • 1/26/13

    Great cast in this glimpse of life in Washington DC during the initial days of World War II. Fay Bainter is at her best as Stella Hadley, a self-centered society matron who refuses to let the war intrude into her life. Edward Arnold, who devotes his life to the War Department helps to bring Stella to reality along with a cast of familiar talent including Spring Byington and Richard Nye. There's romance, comedy and some poignant moments in this delightful movie.

  • The War Against Mrs. Hadley

    • Jim
    • 6/10/10

    This is not so much a propaganda movie as it is a story of the times of WWll. Those of us that lived through this period would enjoy this movie and would admit it to be realistic. The actors have done a great job as well as the directors to display the emotions of the period. It is a classic of how people stop putting themselves first and come together as one to win the war.

  • Addicting war-time melodrama

    • Jarrod McDonald
    • 5/25/10

    I have to preface that it's not all melodrama...there are some great humorous moments in this film, owing to comic scene stealer Spring Byington. But most of the action revolves around Fay Bainter's title character and the effects of war on her, personally. I think it's significant that her birthday is on December 7, 1941. I like how we see all these people in her life getting involved in the war effort and how she is just not going to be part of it. The character goes on a lonely journey, especially during the middle portion of the film. After her son's near-death experience, and the death of her son's friend, she begins to reconnect with everyone and sees the gravity of the situation. The performances are great, with Bainter and Byington receiving support from Edward Arnold, Richard Ney, Sara Allgood and a young Van Johnson, among others. I don't think this is so much a propaganda film as it is a comment on community, family and friends. Bainter and Byington should've received nominations for this film.

  • A lesson learned!

    • FrankieCee
    • 1/7/07

    I wouldn't consider this "propaganda" so much as I would consider it a valid depiction of an initial reaction and call to solidarity, for a very noble cause. America was still reeling and licking the collective wounds inflicted upon it, by an insidious adversary who "hamstrung" us in a most dishonorable way. Yes, all they did accomplish was to "awaken a sleeping giant"! Great Film, true to the cause. Fay Bainter is great, as is the entire cast and production team.

  • Ensnaring Propaganda

    • Ann Brown
    • 8/22/06

    This is pro war propaganda, which is very watchable. A great cast, tight plot, and appealing art direction make "Mrs. Hadley" an interesting look at the theme of the dangers of isolationism after Pearl Harbor. The formidable character actress, Fay Bainter (Mrs Hadley), carries the film with skill, and Van Johnson provides the eye candy for lady members of the audience.

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.