skip navigation
You Can't Run Away From It

You Can't Run Away From It(1956)

Contribute

FOR You Can't Run Away From It (1956) YOU CAN

UPLOAD AN IMAGE SUBMIT A VIDEO OR MOVIE CLIP ADD ADDITIONAL INFORMATION WRITE YOUR OWN REVIEW

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • You Can't Run Away From It

    • Patricia Lindsey
    • 9/22/13

    I love this movie and have been searching for it for ages! I have seen other movies released (and wondered why?) this movie is a keeper. I would love to have it in my collection. I am a huge fan of this movie...come on Sony, PLEASE release this wonderful film on DVD...what is the problem here? This is a great film, great actors, cute story AND I like it much better than the original! Thanks for listening.

  • You Can't Run Away From It! Finally, I Found IT!

    • sandee5371
    • 11/26/12

    As with many classics, I saw this movie over and over again and was never bored. I began looking for it on VHS years ago and it couldn't be found. Five or six years ago, I began the search for a DVD with no better luck. About 3 years ago, all I could find was a poster but that at least proved to doubting family, friends, and video rental joints that the move was real rather than a figment of my imagination. A few months back, I caught the title while surfing TCM via cable and just had to watch it. Now, here it is again. Obviously, I love the movie and every single character. I'm still looking for my own personal copy of the movie.

  • Love It!!

    • Becky
    • 7/29/12

    Have love this since I was a pre-teen. Just a little better(compelling) than the origanal. I always like Jack Lemmon!!

  • Pretty good

    • David
    • 11/16/11

    I've always had a bit of a problem with older films being remade and singing added that wasn't there in the first place. The songs and dancing that were forced into this movie were awkward and uncomfortable. Other than that, both June and Jack did a nice job, not as good as the legendary performances of Colbert and Gable, but they held their own.

  • A Pretty Cute Remake

    • Lee McGall
    • 11/14/11

    As remakes go this was a pretty good one.. The tunes were catchy and the stars were GREAT in their parts.. All in all, as a musical remake of a Black & White Classic it was OK!!!!!

  • Good remake

    • Anna Marie
    • 11/14/11

    It may not be "It Happened One Night", but this is a good movie in its own right. June and Jack have great chemistry together. I enjoyed the movie and enjoyed the musical numbers. Would recommend this movie to anyone. Everytime it's on I watch it.

  • You Can't Run Away From It

    • Katie99
    • 1/21/11

    This movie is an absolute delight to watch- June Allyson with her beautiful speaking voice and Jack Lemmon definitely had the charisma to do the makeover. I loved "It Happened One Night" with Clark Gable and Claudette Colbert. What is wrong with loving both versions? which were topnotch and i feel both versions were perfectly casted- the entire ensembles. You Can't Run Away From It never had the distribution- and I believe if it had been more widely seen, that it would stand up to the charming romantic comedy It Happened One Night.

  • Love it!

    • Nan
    • 11/2/10

    I love Jack Lemmon and I think he did a fine job in this role. Yes, it's a remake. Yes, the Gable and Colbert version is the classic but so what? This is a great pairing with Lemmon and Allyson and I enjoyed it a lot. I already have the Gable version but I'd like this one as well. Hope to be able to purchase it on DVD someday soon.

  • WHY BOTHER?

    • George Coussoulos
    • 11/18/09

    SINCE IT HAPPENED ONE NIGHT SWEPT THE ACADEMY AWARDS, ONE WONDERS WHY ANYONE BOTHERED WITH THIS REMAKE. IT DOSN'T HOLD A CANDLE TO THE ORIGINAL.

  • Sappy Stuff

    • Sue McDonald
    • 11/18/09

    The primary aspect of this film that makes it inferior to "It Happened One Night" is the music and dancing. Yeck! It's no surprise that June Allyson's performance is so inferior to the infinitely more talented Claudette Colbert. Jack Lemmon's performance was better than June's, but even so stands no chance against Gable's original.

  • Letterboxed and stereo, please.

    • Drew Salzan
    • 7/17/08

    While happy that this piece has finally showed up on TCM, why no letterboxing and stereo sound? The CineamScope photography deserves it. A DVD would also be nice. C'mon, SONY!

  • Yum Yum! Jack Lemmon!

    • Julie
    • 12/13/07

    He's at his very best in this movie. He's funny, romantic and so natural at acting you feel you are June Alyson right there with him. She's great too, very cute and peppy. It's a real heart-warming story and lots of fun.

  • Love "It Happened One Night"

    • J McD
    • 9/9/07

    A friend recalled this movie he had seen when in service. I agree with the user review "Judy" about the plot being realistic because it happened to me and my friend. We never "planned" on falling on love but in meeting each other and sharing and learning and accepting each other as we are it did happen! This movie would truly help our younger generation see beyond just knowing each other for sex. It is great the way Capra had the attraction develop with the unseen lovemaking taking place at the total end of the movie. My daughters and I have watched several times. Excellent performances from everyone in the film. Would love to see Allyson and Lemmon also in Run Away.

  • Great Romantic Comedy!!

    • Judy
    • 8/18/07

    I think this is one of the cutest romantic musical comedies I've ever seen. The plot is realistic too..at least before cell phones! June Allyson & Jack Lemmon make the cutest couple and their knack for subtle humor is icing on the cake. True romance is about being initially attracted to a person for who they are, not just for the sake of getting them into bed. This movie is a refreshing reminder of days gone by, when romance was more the focus. Another note...Jack Lemmon had a great singing voice too. Too bad he didn't perform in more musicals. Looking forward to this movie coming out on DVD.

  • About Time!!!!

    • Joe
    • 8/13/07

    I've been waiting for TCM to show this film for years. The last time I saw it was back in the 80's and I still remember it. I kept hoping that it would be revived either on t.v. or maybe even broadway. Who cares what those critics say "It's a bad production of the original." WRONG! Just like with Hairspray both productions stand on there own and both are extremly enjoyable....

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.