skip navigation
Gidget

Gidget(1959)

Up
Down
share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • Terrific film

    • v etc
    • 1/3/18

    This Gidget film had the perfect screenplay, being penned by Gabrielle Upton. Upton perfectly caught the infectious joy of the young tomboy character. Unfortunately, she was not available for the sequels and the two succeeding screenplays simply do not convey any of the tomboyish qualities of the real Gidget -- in fact, you could have simply named the girls in the next two films Wendy or Susan or Cindy or Kim, or anything, since they had so little in common with the one portrayed here by the delightful Sandra Dee ( also unavailable for the sequels as she had been borrowed by Columbia Pictures from Universal Pictures -- try the Tammy films ) .

  • Gidget

    • Teresa
    • 10/15/15

    I was 14 when I saw this film in 1970 and it was and still is one of my all time favorite movies. Sandra Dee, James Darren, Cliff Roberson and Mary La Roche were perfectly cast. It was both lighthearted and fun, yet it touched on serious subjects that most teens, myself included, parents and even returning veterans encountered during that time period and to a larger degree still encounter today. Gidget on the verge of maturity suddenly found herself out of place in a world she had been happy with. Moondoggie was afraid he could never live up to his fathers expiations and rather than face him, he was going to run away. However as much as Moondoggie wanted to be free, with no emotional or physical ties, his concise would not allow him to stand by and watch Gidget get into trouble. He came to her rescue each time. The Kahuna was a returning war veteran, who chose to drop out of society. Being the daughter of a Korean War veteran I wonder could this have been what we call PTSD today? The film encompassed all the emotions teens go through when they're trying to make decisions and figure out who they are and what they want in relationships and out of life in general. It also ask questions that caused me to think. Even Kahuna made attachments to Gidget and with all of her innocent observations about life and the questions she ask, she caused the others to think and in the end they made life changing decisions. I shared the movie with my daughter when she was a teen and she loved it so much she bought the three movie set. We both agree this is the best of the Gidget movies.

  • Gidget

    • Dana 58
    • 5/19/14

    Cute comedy about a pint size female surfer, Sandra Dee stars as Francie Lawrence better known to the surfers as Gidget, a nickmane from two words a girl and midget. mainly fun songs makes it more entertaining.

  • must see

    • Beatnik
    • 8/29/13

    Gidget.. A great movie for all ,young and the old... We should use the movie as a target of goodness for all!!!

  • One of the best teen films!

    • RedRain
    • 7/22/12

    Nobody knew Sandra Dee's true age but we do know she was either 15 or 17 when she made Gidget. I was 14 when this film debuted and it was magic to me. It had all the angst girls and guys feel when they're so young and trying to figure out everything about this boy/girl stuff. You have to consider the time was 1959 when this film was made. Girls were still innocent & Dee's performance brings this out in an exceptional way. The guys were looking for the easy girls, just as they do today, but back then, the guys weren't quite sure what to do with the easy girls once they got them. James Darren, as Moon Doggie, is awkward around girls and trying to learn everything from the Big Kahuna, played by Cliff Robertson. The beach is the meeting ground and surfing is the rage. The film has some terrific surfing and beach scenes throughout. It isn't a deep film and it seems silly over 50 years later because times have changed so much; however, please note they actually talk, no texting or sexting, to one another. It was a simpler more genuine time and I'm not so sure that all of our advances have any advantages over 1959 when it comes to relationships among the younger set. I like this film!

  • Gidget!

    • Pat
    • 7/23/10

    To Sue McDonald:By today's standards this movie may seem like drivel and not as "sophistocated" as the movies of today. For the time it was made it was the way things were. Life was much more simple and innocent and this movie protrays this. I would love to go back to this time of "drivel" when you didn't spend the day listening to all the news about drugs, shootings, child abuse, and worse. We would all benefit for things to be more like this time in the past!LIGHTEN UP!!!!!!

  • Oh, please!

    • Sue McDonald
    • 7/8/10

    It's so hard for me to imagine that anyone could enjoy watching this drivel. After a day of showing wonderful film noir, really good stuff, TCM descends to the level of Gidget and beach movies. Oh well. Maybe this is democracy! I do just wish TCM had reserved evening to show the good ones (NOIR!) instead of this unwatchable trash.

  • Gidget (1959)

    • James Higgins
    • 1/5/10

    The best of all the Gidget movies, and the television series. Sandra Dee is perfectly cast as the tomboyish teenager. Obviously, the movie is not deep or significant, but it is cute fun. It also started the big trend of beach movies, so popular in the 1960's.

  • It's a great teen Movie!

    • Sherry
    • 8/22/09

    My Five sisters and I loved all the Gidget Movies and the TV Show. It made you feel like you can do anything If you put your mind put to it !! That Moondoggie sure was dreamy, but I loved Gidjet! she was funny and it was exciting to find out what she was going to do next!

  • Gigdet is the one!

    • kar
    • 10/22/08

    gidet is the best movie i have seen in a long time. it is fuuny and exciting and dreamy. i loved each character expecially snadra dee as "Gidget". i do not mind looking at this movie over and over. they do not show it enough!

  • I LOVE THIS MOVIE!!

    • Brittany
    • 11/7/07

    Im seventeen now and i can totally relate to this movie even though it was made 30 years befor i was born. Sandra Dee is the perfect actor for this movie she is sweet and nieve, but at the same time a little spitfire. This movie is what made me want to get into the surf seen. I reccomend this movie to everyone. An instant favorite!

  • Absolutely LOVE this movie

    • Jennifer
    • 8/31/07

    I highly recommend this movie to teens and preteens...they will love it..I'm 22 and it still one of my favorites!

  • Favorite movie!!!

    • Bonnie
    • 1/1/07

    GIDGET is my favorite movie! When I was pre-teen and teenage, I so identified with her... As I got older, I appreciated the innocence of it all even more. I look back with a warm heart and smile and wish life was like that simple sweet time now...:)

  • Gidget

    • Mary
    • 11/18/06

    I like this movie. I got it this year when I got interested in seeing anything I could get my hands on that James Darren was in. I liked the second one too although the third was one too many.

  • Cool summer classic

    • Lillian
    • 9/20/06

    When i hear Gidget i remember watching this series of gidget movies in NY on channel 7 on the 4:30 movie. They were so cool. It seemed to take me away to another time and place..

  • gidget

    • get bobb
    • 7/8/06

    best movie sandra dee the greatest

  • I LOVE THIS MOVIE

    • marina
    • 7/7/06

    this movie is great they should play in on tv more often!!!So romantic but funny

  • Gidget is the one for me!

    • Midge
    • 7/7/06

    A fun movie with enjoyable plot and charachters. Dee is a perfect Gidget!

  • A cute movie

    • Jeanie
    • 6/23/06

    I love this movie! I can watch it again and again. A light romantic comedy that can make you forget all your problems. And that James Darren is hot!

  • Takes you back to the good old days

    • Elaine
    • 6/23/06

    I was very young when I first saw this movie, probably early 60's. I just love this movie (and Moondoggie, James Darren was a heart throb then.) It reminds me of growing up at the beach in California. I like the other version of this movie too with Sally Field but have this one with Sandra Dee in my home collection. It was a simpler time and i enjoy reliving it through movies like this.

  • A SIMPLER TIME

    • Annie
    • 1/24/06

    Watching the movie, GIDGET, is like taking a trip back in time, a simpler time. I was 9 years old when this movie came out and I thought it was the "coolest" thing ever. The story line isn't original and the acting, seen through contmeporary eyes, seems pretty corny but for this Baby Boomer it's a sweet film to see again and remember a simpler time.

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.