skip navigation
The White Cliffs of Dover

The White Cliffs of Dover(1944)

Contribute

FOR The White Cliffs of Dover (1944) YOU CAN

UPLOAD AN IMAGE SUBMIT A VIDEO OR MOVIE CLIP ADD ADDITIONAL INFORMATION WRITE YOUR OWN REVIEW

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

DVDs from TCM Shop

The White Cliffs of Dover An American woman with a... MORE > $15.96 Regularly $19.99 Buy Now

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • white cliffs of dover

    • kevin sellers
    • 3/6/17

    How bad is this movie? It's the only time I haven't liked Irene Dunne is how bad it is.

  • A decent echo of Mrs. Miniver

    • Arch Stanton
    • 7/29/16

    While not of the same caliber as Mrs. Miniver---and the similarities of content, tone, and message are inescapable---The White Cliffs of Dover is certainly a good and watchable film. The story is a bit simplistic, but the overall result is spared from mediocrity by the work of a fine supporting cast of some of the great character actors of the Golden Era: C. Aubrey Smith, Frank Morgan, Dame May Whitty, Gladys Cooper. It's also interesting to see other familiar faces in their early years, most notably Elizabeth Taylor. Irene Dunne is always a treat to watch.

  • Shallow is an understatement

    • Robert
    • 5/10/15

    Hollywood failed miserably with this World War II era propaganda movie that fails to even get off the ground much less soar. Disappointing. But now I know why I'd never heard much about it in the past.

  • One of my most favorite movies

    • Paula Kleban
    • 5/10/15

    This movie has every thing. Great story and cast. Irene Dunne at her best! !One of my all time favorites !

  • Too slick

    • Chris
    • 5/27/14

    The movie follows one British/American family from WWI to WWII. But don't watch this if you're looking for a battle film. This is the family story, and those are the best parts, but I found it all a little too sanitized and sweet. But worth watching just to see Roddy McDowall and Elizabeth Taylor as youngsters. Elizabeth steals every scene she's in.

  • Melodramatic yet in a good way!

    • Jeremy
    • 10/3/12

    The White Cliffs of Dover may not be the best film ever made, and in fact you might not even like it too much the first time around. It has pacing problems and is very melodramatic, but its also a great film because it is very powerful when it wants to be. It resonates with the viewer during certain key scenes, and it has the most powerful ending that I have ever seen in a film. Its a tough film to swallow due to its power, but if your up to it it will make an impact on you forever. A solid 4-star film!

  • Simply a Wonderful Film

    • Brian
    • 8/24/12

    Just watching this wonderful film. Not shallow at all. What a cast!!! So many stars!! Very moving and intelligent. Obviously a WW2 propaganda piece but a must see that was first time for me. The inherent sadness and loss during war is depicted well. I like the interaction of Yankee and English wit and ways that is well written. Irene Dunne is simply a star as she is in so many films. The young Liz Taylor and Roddy McDowell. Both are a treat. Great sets and dress. I give it 5 stars.

  • Fell asleep.

    • Alice
    • 2/6/12

    During this last "31 Days of Oscar". I tried so hard to stay up to see "White Cliffs..." I fell asleep. however, due to the scheduled time of showing, (3:15 A.M.). Much to my dismay and huge disappointment, I was only able to see the last hour or so. I absolutely loved what I saw. The film exceeded my expectations. I am constantly and joyfully amazed at the depth and authenticity in the performances of actresses like Irene Dunne, in this film, Greer Garson, in Mrs Miniver, Myrna Loy, and Claudette Colbert. We just don't see this caliber of "star quality", like this anymore. Add to this, the genuine love of country, with the willingness to sacrifice for the cause of "right", and you have the makings of a film which penetrates your heart and into your gut. We live in a much different time where love and pride for country has been replaced with love of "self". I so appreciate TCM, where I have great opportunities to immerse myself in these and many, many more films with the superb acting plus great strories with depth and substance. Add to all of this, the by-gone sense of right and wrong, and I, for one, experience full and deep enjoyment in a film. Please, TCM, will you schedule "White Cliffs..." again real soon? Please? Thank you.

  • Maravilhoso

    • Sonia
    • 12/18/10

    Este filme muito bom. Eu adoro a Elizabeth Taylor e a Irene Dunne. O filme muito bonito e o roteiro muito bom. Uns dos meus filmes preferidos.

  • White Cliffs of Dover

    • Gary A Fox
    • 3/15/10

    By chance I was able to view this movie and was very pleasantly surprised. I had heard of it but didn't know the great Irene Dunne and Gladys Cooper were in it . A very, Very good movie, the sets, costuming, acting, photography are all exceptional. Very much worth having on DVD if it ever happens. Never colorize it, Black and White is perfect. the only way it should be shown. Very sad ending though.

  • The White Cliffs of Dover

    • Renee
    • 2/24/10

    Exceptional wartime movie. Irene Dunne's performance was wonderful as usual. It was delightful to see Roddy Macdowell and Elizabeth Taylor early in their careers. Do hope to see it on DVD soon. Would love to share it with my 82 year old mother, as she did not see it in 1944 and is anxious to view it now.

  • The White Cliffs of Dover

    • Kim
    • 2/22/10

    Beautiful and Romantic movie. Tears came to my eyes quite often because of the realistic drama of love, honesty, and patriotism. I enjoyed the costumes, background and footage. Movies like these are sadly only history. So grateful TCM has given us this opportunity to go back in time and appreciate a good movie.

  • The White Cliffs of Dover (1944)

    • Jay
    • 7/5/09

    Charming period film, wonderfully acted by the amazing Irene Dunne, beautifully filmed with excellent attention to the art direction, costumes and the cinematography. It's Dunne that makes the film work.

  • Beautifully romantic and memorable story.

    • Nina
    • 6/15/09

    It always amazes me that so many films captured WWII as it was happening.

  • A Beautifully Acted Movie

    • Joan
    • 6/18/08

    What a moving performance by Irene Dunne. A must see movie made in the days when Hollywood honored their Country and Patriots like Irene Dunne occupied the big screen!

  • A movie for all...

    • becky
    • 5/20/07

    Follow the life of an American woman who starts out vacationing with her father and finds love, a new country, a family and sorrow. How war affects everyone not just those who fight.

  • A great lesson in humility...

    • FrankieCee
    • 12/9/06

    This is one great movie. A story about generations, obligations, history and a dedication to a staunch sense of patriotism. A story of great love and egregious loss and while scenes of war play only minor parts, the brunt of its consequences permeates the enitre presentation. This film, while fundamentally antiwar in its sentiment, is a testament to the truth associated with the will of "right" to be victorious and for good to persevere over evil. A very dramatic film which is worthy of repeat viewing. I truly enjoyed this film and I believe that those who watch it, will agree.

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.