skip navigation
My Man Godfrey

My Man Godfrey(1936)

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

DVDs from TCM Shop

My Man Godfrey A zany heiress tries to help a... MORE > $10.95 Regularly $10.99 Buy Now

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • So funny

    • Cheryl
    • 10/13/18

    A glowing comedy that has a rich girl taking in a down-and-out man and giving him a chance. Starring ex--spouses, Carol Lombard and William Powell, this is truly a classic.

    • 8/3/18

  • Hilarious!

    • Spaghetti
    • 9/1/17

    Nothing to add to all the glowing reviews. The script is brilliant, but there's one quote that stands out: "All you need to start an asylum is an empty room and the right kind of people." True.

  • The best movie ever made

    • Karen
    • 3/14/17

    Seriosly... it is just the best movie ever made. I can watch it again & again with the same enjoyment as the first time.

  • correction to last review

    • kevin sellers
    • 9/10/16

    Forgot to mention that Eric Hatch (who wrote the play upon which this movie is based) and an uncredited La Cava also helped to craft this great screenplay.

  • my man godfrey

    • kevin sellers
    • 9/10/16

    I disagree with the general perception that this is a "screwball comedy." It's actually a fairly sophisticated, verbal comedy about a screwball family and their sane butler. Wonderful screenplay by Morrie Ryskind that provides every member of a large cast with some great one liners. And director Gregory La Cava must be given credit for the overall excellence of the acting. Not a bad performance to be found among William Powell, Carol Lombard, Alice Brady (as the ditzy mother) Mischa Auer (the classic sponger) Jean Dixon (the wisecracking lady's maid) and Gail Patrick (the bitchy sister.) And a couple of the scenes, like the one where deadbeat/glutton Auer is forced to earn his keep by imitating a gorilla in a vain attempt to cheer up a lovelorn Lombard, and the scavenger's ball that shows the rich at their most insensitive (which is just what Depression audiences wanted to watch) are among the funniest things you'll ever see on celluloid. Give it an A.

  • My Man Godfrey

    • Michael Whitty
    • 8/2/16

    A screwball comedy of the thirties that gets better and better as we see a man picked out from the homeless bums by the river to be a butler at a wealthy household. William Powell as Godfrey teaches Carole Lombard and her mom and dad a few things of life since Godfrey is really a college educated guy who ends up helping the household with some money problems. Stories like this improve as they go along as we see more to Godfrey that he is more intelligent than those around him. We need more movies like this.

  • My Man Godfrey

    • Dashiell Barnes
    • 9/6/12

    Of all the nominations this film recieved, a Best Picture honour wasn't one of them. This film was the first to have performers nominated in the four acting categories; Powell, Lombard, Auer & Brady are superb. Homeless bum Powell is hired into the eccentric household by Lombard & occupied by Brady, Auer, Pallette & Patrick. The story under the Oscar-nominated direction of LaCava, is witty with a social underlining about the strive of the homeless & naivete of the rich. One of the best & wittiest screwball comedies. I give it a 5/5.

  • Where it all began

    • Richard Grasser
    • 3/18/12

    Overshadows even the Thin Man series, by far his best ever, how could you not like great emtertainment.

  • Excellent film

    • Jeff
    • 5/8/11

    This is one of my top 5 favorite films ever made. I can watch it over and over, and the joy I get doesn't lessen one bit.

  • My Man Godfrey

    • Mark Sutch
    • 4/13/11

    ***1/2

  • Powell is a pleasure

    • Jeff Boston
    • 2/15/11

    Tonight, I watched "My Man Godfrey" for the second time. A classic screwball comedy worthy of its film and acting Oscar nominations. Powell's characters were always polished without being prissy, and the mom in this movie was even more delightfully ditzy than her saintly daughter. I liked many scenes, including the one in the lounge where Godfrey throws something at Cornelia she had coming to her. And did the man of the house throw Carlo with one hand - or two? I was even thrown myself, when Godfrey declared "the only difference between a derelict and a man is a job." Probably a general truism in the 30s, and a crowd-pleasing sentiment during the Great Depression. Such words would be dismissed today by all but the theoretical left.

  • encrore'

    • Fred
    • 2/15/11

    Excellent movie

  • Divino filme

    • Sonia
    • 11/7/10

    Este filme excelente e vai desde a Diva que est linda neste filme Carole Lombard at a direo. Um grande clssico em que Carole Lombard foi indicada ao Oscar.

  • My Man Godfrey 1936

    • Zaranda Thomas
    • 8/30/10

    This is the BEST MOVIE EVER!!!!! I look at it everyday on the DCCD-Educational Channel here in Texas. Channel 97. I LOVE THIS MOVIE..Pure Comedy!!!!! The mother and her protege' is crazy funny..You MUST show this on TCM. PLEASE!!! Love TCM.

  • My Man Godfrey

    • Ray Marlitz
    • 7/23/10

    Rich girl who falls for homeless man who becomes her butler; then husband?

  • One of my all time favorites!

    • mloyfan
    • 3/26/10

    "My Man Godfrey" is one of the best movies of all time. I can't see it not being largely considered one of the best comedies from any movie era let alone from the 1930's. Being a big Myrna Loy fan you can imagine the number of movies starring Mr. Powell that I've seen, and this is one of his best performances. Of course I can't do I write up for this movie with giving praise to the incredible performance by Carole Lombard. Who wouldn't want to marry Irene Bullock? If I could bring only five movies with me somewhere my DVD for this film is easily one of them. If you haven't seen "My Man Godfrey" do yourself a big favor and watch it.

  • GREAT!!!!!!

    • linda
    • 11/2/08

    This is one of the best old movies I have ever watched..Don't pass it up!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Filmmaking At Its Best

    • Donald
    • 10/19/08

    This is surely one of the most underrated movies in the history of cinema. It is the perfect example of the screwball comedy and does not fail to superbly deliver on all aspects of the film watching experience. The script is a verbal delight and every member of the cast gives a fantastic performance. The direction and cinematography give us so much that one discovers new things with each viewing. This is one of the few perfect 10 films ever made.

  • My Man Godfrey

    • Joyce
    • 10/14/08

    A perfect movie . I never get tired of seeing it ! Everyone should see it .

  • This is a great, great movie

    • Lisa
    • 10/9/08

    'My Man Godfrey" is just about perfect, a screwball comedy for certain - but it also subtly delivers a moral/social message.Powell is golden as usual as the "bum" that Carole Lombard takes home to her dysfunctional family. Lombard is, not surprisingly, enchanting as a ditzy rich gal.The supporting cast is good as well, and the movie ends on a good note, not much to quibble with here, this film is a winner.

  • My Man Godfrey

    • kellon
    • 9/2/06

    I had to watch this film at least twice to fully understand the dialogue. Unlike some other comedies from this era, it requires multiple viewings and a good eye to experience all aspects of the plot.I love this movie, because not only is it funny; it has such a message to offer it's audience. A message of finding pride in whatever you do, whatever your job may be. Godfrey himself says he prides himself on not only being a butler, but a good butler. I think this message applies just as much today as it did so long ago.My favorite scene is undoubtably when Irene faints in Godfrey's arms near the end of the picture. After seeing so much screwiness and outlandish behavior yet without saying a word, finally he says under his breath, 'This is the craziest family...' i find myself so happy just to hear him acknowledge the obvious!The relationship between Godfrey and Irene is delightful to watch. Funny to see Godfrey often deflect her seeming infatuation with him, saying he could '...never take the place of her late lamented pomeranian.'I always get a kick out of this movie and would find it a shame for any Powell fan or any movie buff to miss out on seeing it. It's the superlative example of classic comedy... with a lesson in respect for one's profession.

  • My favorite comedy

    • FrankieCee
    • 6/27/06

    "My Man Godfrey" is probably my favorite comedy of "one-liners" for all time. Each fun packed moment is hilarious and resplendent with nonstop humor. Each and every role was filled as brilliantly as a fine vintage wine. William Powell is most likely one of the most versatile actors of all time. If you don't own this one, you will never again, laugh as hard. Spectacular!

  • love it!

    • laura
    • 2/16/06

    I could watch "Godfrey" over and over! Something different makes me laugh each time I see it. William Powell is one of my favorite comedic and dramatic actor from the times. But the supporting cast is so colorful and talented,that I crave to see a sequal to this one. Too bad you can't reach back in time!This movie is a delight! and...it is out in dvd....my husband bought it for me this Christmas!

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.