skip navigation
Désirée

Désirée(1954)

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • Not shown enough

    • Cecilia
    • 1/30/18

    This historical movie features lots of great actors ( not just Brando) and should be shown more. The costumes are wonderful and Jean Simmons and Michael Rene are fabulous here. What a break from the hard, loveless and violent shows on now. Please bring this one back more often.

  • desiree

    • kevin sellers
    • 3/26/16

    I read somewhere that, if Brando did not respect the director with whom he was working, he'd give a deliberately bad performance. Judging from this film he really must have despised Henry Koster. 'Cause this is Brando at his worst. It's like he's giving a bad impersonation of Olivier impersonating Napoleon. Truly execrable! Even "Missouri Breaks" is better.

  • Desiree

    • Desiree Rexrode
    • 11/27/14

    This movie is a lovely storie inwhich Brando and Simmons bring to life this remarkable novel. My parents were in Washington D C (father stationed in the army and my mother pregnet with me). My parents saw the movie and fell in love with Jean Simmons and the Name "Desiree". They decided after the movie that if I was a girl they would name me Desiree. And so I was born and so I was named. Whenever the movie would come on T V, I would watch it regardless of the time of day. I would like this movie in my personal collection so I can watch it more. I hope that this movie comes available for purchase and is shown on TCM some. I feel more people will grow to love this film as much as I.

  • One of the best Historical Movies!

    • Christine Mathieu
    • 8/2/13

    Except of "Forever Amber", "Frenchman's Creek" (both versions: 1944 and 1998) and GWTW I cannot think of a better historical movie.Jean Simmons is very cute as Dsire Clary and of course Marlon Brando as Napolon.Michael Rennie as Count Bernadotte from Sweden is a real heartthrob.Merle Oberon plays Josephine and Cameron Mitchell Napoln's brother Joseph Bonaparte, Cathlene Nesbitt (well-known from the TV series with Inger Stevens and William Windom "The Farmer's Daughter" is Mrs. Bonaparte, the mother of the brothers.Henry Koster directed many good movies, you won't be disappointed from this one!

  • Desiree 1954

    • Shirley
    • 5/9/12

    I Have been waiting for this classic to be released on DVD...... who makes the decisions for a DVD release???

  • One Of The Best!

    • bev
    • 10/13/11

    I watched the movie Desirre when I was a teenager. I loved it! I found the book a couple of months ago. I couldn't put it down. Why doesn't someone put it on DVD???

  • My name sake

    • Desiree Wren
    • 6/21/11

    I have always loved this movie maybe because my mom named me after the book by AnnaMarie Selinko. Jean Simmons has always been a favorite of mine. She plays Desiree so well. It would be nice if you would play thin during the month of June when you are featuring her.

  • Desiree

    • S. Backhus
    • 12/2/10

    Glad to see others find Desiree so great! Powerful story, great acting by Brando and Jean Simmons, etc. The most compelling use of color in a Cinemascope-type film I've ever seen. Scene after scene has color themes and emphases of exquisite quality.

  • Uns dos melhores filmes

    • Sonia
    • 11/30/10

    Este filme excelente. Marlon Brando e Jean Simmons esto maravilhosos. O roteiro, as locaes, o figurino so fascinantes. Fiquei um pouco espantada de no ver o filme no acervo do TCM. Este filme um clssico. Muito bom mesmo.

  • Desiree 1954

    • Bobbie Crider
    • 4/20/10

    I saw this movie on the late show a long time ago; it started a love for anything that I could get my hands on to read or study about the life and times of the French emperor. 50 years later I retain that love. Please release it on DVD or on TV

  • Desiree (1954)

    • James Higgins
    • 4/13/10

    Highly fictionalized account of the loves of Napoleon. Curious casting, particularly Marlon Brando as the famed emperor. It is a bit slow moving and too talky, but the production is exquisite. Fine art direction, costume design and cinematography. Decent score. Both the art direction and costumes received Academy Award nominations. Carolyn Jones is memorable in a small role. Jean Simmons is always a pleasure to watch.

  • Desiree

    • Johanna W. Priller
    • 2/1/10

    This movie played in Bremen/Germany in1950 - and I fell in love with it.I would like for TCM to play thismovie again.

  • Pls play desiree in TCM

    • let
    • 12/8/09

    i fell in love with this movie. pls TCM play this movie again

  • on cinamax

    • paul neven
    • 3/15/09

    you can catch this one on cinamax

  • One of the best classics!

    • Victoria
    • 1/29/08

    I happened to catch this when trying to fall asleep on a cruise ship and stood awake for hours because I had to see the end! I am on a mission to find it on TCM or Video!

  • Desiree/ Marlon Brando and Jean Simmons

    • Kim
    • 1/12/08

    This is one of my favorite movies. Truly a "Classic" for historical romance lovers. Needs to be played on TCM and put on DVD. It has not played on TV for years - why?

  • This movie is amazing

    • holice Crain
    • 5/3/07

    I remember the first time I saw this movie I was amazed by it. Brando is great as usual. Jean Simmons you cant take your eyes off. I want to own this movie so bad....please bring it to dvd.

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.