skip navigation
Dr. Strangelove or: How I Learned To Stop Worrying and Love the Bomb

Dr. Strangelove or: How I Learned To Stop Worrying and Love the Bomb(1964)

Contribute

FOR Dr. Strangelove or: How I Learned To Stop Worrying and Love the Bomb (1964) YOU CAN

UPLOAD AN IMAGE SUBMIT A VIDEO OR MOVIE CLIP ADD ADDITIONAL INFORMATION WRITE YOUR OWN REVIEW

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • i'm fine too dimitri...i'm glad your fine

    • Robert Longhauser
    • 4/30/19

    where to start or end?...this is a perfect movie...the cast is marvelous...of course Sellers but George C. Scott is off the charts...and then we get Slim Pickens for extra seasoning...this film is hilarious because it is so frighteningly wacko and yet disturbingly plausible...look around you...you won't have to look far...we're all in the war room together and the plane is in route...

  • Humorous Patriotism

    • Joe M
    • 4/25/19

    Stanley Kubrick is a brilliant director and combined drama and comedy in this film. Is a classic because I do not think any other type of film has ever been made with the combination as above. To start Peter Sellers demonstrates his abilities in acting 3 parts all of which are very different, Capt. Mandrake baby sitting a flipped out general, then a US President in a situation that any man would not want to be in, last Dr. Strangelove a carry over from the Nazi regime. All done brilliant manner. George C Scott 4 star gen. was as funny as all get up, his figures an presentation to the pres. on how we could hit the Soviet Union and that our losses would just 15-20 million at best, also the demonstration of our B-52's flying capability. Sterling Hayden the base gen. played the part so well, I can just see him, his orders and absolute conviction regarding the body fluids, and telling Mandrake his thoughts. Entire cast was great. James Earl Jones was excellent as the combat Lt. in the attacking plane, Slim Pickens as the pilot and Major commanding the bomber was fantastic, his dedication for his position as a commander in that situation was real as well as funny. THINK for a moment in particular most of us being born from 1940- 1960, we were a generation that was brought up on pride of our country and patriotism. Why when you watched the B-52 Stratofortress heading towards it's target and then listen to the song When Johnny Comes Marching Home and it new it may not make it back, from Soviet territory, the true courage of our military came through, at that moment it was serious even in the picture IT COULD BRING A TEAR TO YOUR EYES. Back to fun Slim rides the bomb down in glory. GREAT GREAT PICTURE, 5 stars.

  • Dr Strangelove

    • Carol
    • 4/12/19

    "Mine Furor....I can walk".

  • Dr Strangelove: fact or fiction?

    • Steve Rosenberg
    • 12/23/17

    In Daniel Ellsberg's new book, "The Doomsday Machine: Confessions of a Nuclear War Planner," he mentions that after seeing "Dr. Strangelove" he regarded it as a documentary.

  • Dr.Strangelove

    • Michael Whitty
    • 6/17/16

    One of the great comic satires of intellectual craziness "Dr.Strangelove" shows B-52 bombers going to Russia to destroy targets when given the green light by an insane general. Peter Sellars takes on three roles including the U.S.President who has to talk to the Russian Premier about "not getting too mad". George C.Scott as General Buck Turgidson goes laughingly mad at times in his effort to recall the planes. Actually the planes do get recalled.....but one doesn't. An iconic moment is seeing Slim Pickens sitting on the bomb...when it is dropped. This was a masterwork of dark comedy during the Cold War with Russia when during the same year a normal drama of bombing Russia came out..."Fail-Safe". "Dr.Strangelove" makes us laugh at the satire moments but keeps us thinking of how serious a third world war would be.

  • Essential

    • Kubby
    • 2/28/15

    A masterpiece

  • Truth in Jest is Best

    • Will Fox
    • 2/20/15

    From personal experience, as a Strategic Air Command flyer, instructor/evaluator, Task Force Director, Chief of Contingency, in US/UK/NATO command posts, forward operating locations, war rooms, etc., this film and situations are accurate, though exaggerated for dramatic and satirical motivations. Peter Seller is superb as the cool RAF Commander and the US President trying to jolly difficult people. Dale Carnegie's "How to Win Friends And Influence People," featuring semiofficial sensibilities, could have been the cast's handbook for Kubrick's hilarious history. Proving Truth in Jest is Best. Contrary to stereotyped expectations, everyone encountered, every Cold Warrior, etc. enjoyed, delighted in "Dr. Strangelove." Sellers satirical genius in multiple roles, three here and three more, previewed in "The Mouse That Roared" (1959) are fascinating, galvanizing laughing aloud. "Mouse" is also about the Cold War. The little Liechtenstein-esque country, declares war on the US, steals the bomb, and holds it for ransom, basically to get American Foreign Aid forever. Follow the money. Which is also the motive for Peter Seller's best, final satire, "Being There." Even more impressively it profoundly sends up pompous, pontificating political personalities and media mavens. Even better than "Network." All unequivocally recommended. Proving Truth in Jest is Best

  • Kubrick cool is getting cold

    • Jeff Boston
    • 2/19/15

    The so sixties expatriate director has lost a lot of luster over the years. His message movies are really becoming dated, not nearly as relevant (save "2001") or "real" - even in his serious films there's too much exaggeration and gratuitousness that was once ballyhood as pure genius.

  • What? Me worry? I love Peter Sellers

    • roger steinbrink
    • 2/19/15

    Totally a 5 star movie. Sellers, Scott, and especially Sterling Hayden are fantastic in their roles.Still maniacally funny now as it was then. "Mein Fuerher!" Indeed....

  • Classic Kubrick In Satire Mode

    • Graham Thomas
    • 9/25/14

    Original satire from the master Kubrick. For a serious view of a similar subject see his "Paths of Glory".Good double feature with "Fail Safe". Kubrick's love affair with Sellers continues. We'll worth seeing, good show all hands, Slim Pickens never better.

  • Dr. Strangelove

    • I_Fortuna
    • 11/12/13

    It is so refreshing to see Simon Helberg introducing several great movies. I certainly have always been a fan of Peter Sellers and his movies and more recently Simon Helberg. These are terrific picks tonight. Thanks Simon and TCM.

  • Dr Strangelove

    • John
    • 8/5/13

    Overall-5/5Lead Performers-5/5Supporting Cast-5/5Director-5/5Screenplay-4/5Cinematography-5/5Importance-4/5Recommendation for fans of the genre-5/5

  • Space Oddity

    • Bruce Reber
    • 3/27/12

    The song that a previous reviewer couldn't remember the name of is David Bowie's classic rocker "Space Oddity". The line in that song is "ground control to Major Tom" FYI.

  • Amazing

    • TravisD
    • 3/25/12

    "Dr. Strangelove" is one the funniest and most influential satires ever made. I would go so far as to say that it is one of the greatest films of all time.

  • Dr. Strangelove...

    • Steve
    • 3/15/12

    As a military brat and child of the cold war, this movie has always been as interesting as it has been enjoyable to me. When it came out we were living on a B-52 bomber base-my dad was a crew member-in North Carolina, and we had also lived at Offut AFB with Curtis LeMay. George C. Scott's portrayal of LeMay was what made this movie for me, even though he protrayed the media caricature of LeMay rather than the General himself. LeMay was almost certainly the greatest and most influential American General of WW II and remained so well into the '60's, but was lampooned so often by the press that people tend to recall him in a way that Scott captures in this film. I love his performance and this movie is my favorite Kubrick film as well as Scott's. Don't miss it, it is hillarious from start to finish. "Major Kong to ground control". Can't remember the name of that song! Four out of four stars!

  • Strangelove and Fail Safe Back to Back

    • Bruce Reber
    • 1/12/12

    Hey TCM, I'd like to see you show "Dr. Strangelove-Or How I Learned To Stop Worrying And Love The Bomb" and "Fail Safe" back-to-back in prime time very soon. I'd like to see both the contrasts and similarities between these two Armageddon films - Stanley Kubrick's laugh-out-loud dark comic satire and Sidney Lumet's stark and suspenseful drama played totally straight. I have both on DVD and watch them often. I'm sure there are many other classic film fans out there who'd like to see DSOHILTSWALTB and FS together. In fact TCM, you could show an entire night of films about nuclear holocaust and the end of the world. There are many good ones in your library (and some that aren't). KUTGW TCM!!!!

  • Dubbed change

    • Dave
    • 1/3/12

    When Slim Pickens finishes going through the survial contents he says "a good time in Vegas with all this". He actual said Dallas but it was dubbed in to Vegas due to the event in Dallas on November 22, 1963. All of Kubrick's flims have a interesting statements in them and all are still current today. Dave yes Hal

  • funny in 1964, but not since 1966

    • denscul
    • 1/30/11

    Saw this film when I was a college senior. Thought it was great Good everything. Actors, Directors writters, ect. In 1967, I was a coo-pilot on a KC-135. That's the plane refueling the Bomber shown at the begining of the film. The problem with this film is it does not qualify to be called a satire. Look up the word. A satire is an artistic way of telling the truth.If this film fooled me, it sounds like its continued to fool others. Its hard to make fun out of a handicapped person, a person dying of cancer, and when a film attempts to satirize without knowing what its satirizing it will not stand the test of time, and thus not be a classic.SAC had many controlls placed on anyone who handled nukes. So did the Soviets. The fact remains, nothing happened on either side that is remotely similar to this film.One "crazy" General could not start a War. There was a two man policy, two people were required to check on the other. There was a Human Reliability Program. Everyone underwent frequent phyc exams. Co-workers would report anyone who had crazy ideas like flouridation and withholding their "male essence". Anyone who had that kind of idea would be immediatly spotted.The system of a "machine" with codes is completly fictiious. The orders to go to war where made by non-operational groups, on a frequent basis, and the codes were contained in a plastic one time use only, opened by a secret and one time code sent by air. The concept of Mutually Assured Destruction, called MAD for short, was not a crazy concept. It was the first time in history, that each side didn't start a war, didn't kill anyone by using nuclear weapons because nobody would have anything to gain.This was a serious and complety sane approach to the Cold War.This war was fought by dedicated, and certainly more dedicated to protecting their nations than for profit filmakers.

  • ACADEMY AWARDS

    • WILLIAM GAUSLOW
    • 1/28/11

    Slim Pickins, George C. Scott and Peter Bull should have received nominations for Oscar for best supporing actor. Tracey Reed should have received "some sort of" award for the best body ever to appear in a movie.

  • one of the best satires ever

    • al
    • 6/23/09

    from the sad shape the world was in during the cold war, came one of the funniest movies i've ever seen.

  • Greatest Cold War Comedy Ever

    • Bruce Reber
    • 9/9/08

    "Dr. Strangelove" is in my opinion the funniest satire on the Cold War ever made. I have the DVD but it is the other version and not the 40th Anniversary one.I watched it on TCM Monday 9/8/08-I think the 40th Anniv. was the version aired-the only difference I noticed was that it has some letterboxing and mine doesn't. Peter Sellers gives his second best performance(s) (next to Inspector Clouseau in "The Pink Panther") and all of the other actors are great also. What really strikes me about Dr. S is that at the time it was made the Cold War between the U.S. and Russia was at its chilliest and it was only a little more than one year after the Cuban Missle Crisis, when the world came close to total nuclear annihilation. Stanley Kubrick took the paranoia about something that could actually happen and made a brilliant dark satire. My favorite scenes are Ripper (Sterling Hayden) spouting his insane beliefs about Communist conspiracy and fluoridation of water, Guano (Keenan Wynn) shooting a Coke machine to get change and getting sprayed in the face, Maj. Kong (Slim Pickens) riding the missle like a bronco as it falls on its target and the final scene where Dr. S stands up from his wheelchair (supposedly exhilarated from talking about saving the world by having the human race live in mines for 100 years and repopulation by abandoning the traditional monogamous sexual relationship) and exclaiming "I can walk mein fuhrer"! Four stars, excellent on every level.

  • Great comedic acting!

    • sactobob
    • 8/9/07

    Truly a beautiful movie that I can watch over and over and still find something new.

  • UNFORGETTABLE

    • JASON
    • 4/19/07

    ONE CAN NOT HELP BUT BE AWE STRUCK WHEN THEY SEE THIS FILM.KUBRICK USES COMEDY TO GET A SERIOUS POINT ACROSS.THE REASON WE KNOW IT IS A GREAT FILM IS BECAUSE IT IS STILL FRESH WITH US.WHO CAN FORGET THE SLIM PICKENS CHARCTER IN ONE OF THE MOST UNFORGETTABLE ENDINGS IN THE HISTORY OF MOVIES.

  • Black, no sugar

    • John Ellis
    • 3/4/06

    Kubrick discovered in the process of making this that the only way to deal with the subject was to make it insanely funny. His experience as a Life magazine photographer gives it jolts of reality at just the right moments, so you believe it even as you dodge the ridiculous names and the dead-on language of powerful men who never grew past puberty. The end of the world becomes a gang of teenage boys' sexual fantasy in the incisive last sequence. Sellers is amazing (and lucky he was injured played "King" Kong as he would not likely have pulled off that part, or not as well as an indelible Slim Pickins does replacing him). Eerily, the film is now a better roadmap of the Bush administration mentality than it was of its own time. Artistically, it is remarkable how simple it is, and in the end it's Kubrick's most elegant film. There is not a single moment in it he is showing off a new camera trick. It is the most cogent film on the sexual regressiveness of the American male ever made, with illustrated consequences. What else can you do but laugh?

  • Strange in a good way.

    • randy30
    • 2/23/06

    Its almost a spoof of war, Sellers shines in his mutiple roles.

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.