skip navigation
Four Wives

Four Wives(1939)

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

DVDs from TCM Shop

Four Wives Three married women play... MORE > $14.95 Regularly $17.99 Buy Now

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • CORN, PURE CORN

    • keith christensen
    • 5/2/18

    Four Daughters was bad enough, Four Wives carries the cornball home. Priscilla Lane was sure cute but she's no actress. First, someone should have spent 5 minutes at least showing her how to hold a violin, much less fake-play it. The saving grace for these films was Claude Rains. He's always great.

  • my nature must be to contend..

    • a.morris
    • 4/30/18

    not exactly nice..how one of the sisters threw a dead character under the bus. she never really loved him..I believe were the words. that character help give you a paycheck. great..giving a negative point of view about something..that does not mean the butt of a rat. need to get a hold of myself. still.. do not treat john Garfield like that. now if it was Bradley cooper..all good.

  • 4 daughters, 4 wives, 4 mothers

    • fllady61
    • 10/5/15

    These movies are seldom seen on TCM anymore. I have not seen them in quite a while. I love this trilogy. The cast was exceptional. There was never a dull moment in any of these movies. The Lane sisters were wonderful. As were the whole cast. Would like to see these movies come on soon, IN ORDER on the same day. 6 hours of wonderful acting.

  • Engaging Family

    • Commenter77
    • 3/7/12

  • Four daughters, four wives. four mothers

    • Karen
    • 3/6/10

    I love the Lane sisters and the entire cast. Those black and white movies are the best!

  • Four Daughters, Four Mothers, Four Wives

    • Kathy Covert
    • 9/3/09

    Delightful movies. The cast is so wonderful. I wish I could have known every one of them!!

  • Four daughters, Four Mothers, Four Wives

    • Gloria
    • 3/21/08

    Through the years these three movies have been my comfort food. When I need a boost I watch these three movies in sequence. They will never be outdated. I keep checking to see if they become available on DVD. Keep showing them.

  • re:Four Daughters; Four Mothers; Four Wives

    • Linda
    • 1/28/08

    I LOE these three movies!!!! wish they were available on DVD----would love to add them to my collection! they don't make movies like these anymore! directors/producers/actors today could take a definite lesson from the movies of the late 30's, 40's and 50's! you could actually watch them and not be embarrassed by the violence, sexual enuendos, or cussing!!!!!!! the writers actually had to WRITE and not use sound effects OR violence or sex to get their message across!!!!!!! I am in my 60's and these old movies are better than 90% of what is being made, nowdays!!!!!!!!!

  • Love these Movies!!

    • Sharon
    • 11/27/07

    I heard my Mom speak of "courting" to these movies, then when I would see one she had mentioned I made sure I watched. Right now it's the "Four Wives" set of movies and I just love them. People today say they don't like "those old black and white" movies. My husband thinks its funny but he knows what to get me when holidays come around!. TCM - you have my total support! Thank you! Anytime you want to play more Bette Davis, Joan Crawford would be fine with me!

  • Four Wives

    • patricia
    • 10/24/07

    Never since the sequel was great love old classics I'm very interested knowing when it will show again only saw 20min of the ending.Please show again.Reminded me of the story with Doris Day.

  • WE NEED TO SEE DECENT MOVIES!

    • Jacquelyn
    • 8/23/07

    Hats off to the women requesting to see and have on dvd Four Daughters,Four Wives and Four Mothers.I didn't even know there was a Four Mothers!When was it made? Now I am dying to see it.To often good movies get put aside never to be seen or heard of.The world of clean and decent movies is passing away and I love the old classics where I don't have to close my eyes because of a scene that is offensive,not alone to hear the language used. PLEASE show all three of these wonderful movies. I have told my friends about these great movies and I would be thrilled for them to see them.

  • Four Wives and Four Mothers

    • Gretchen
    • 3/24/07

    According to the April schedule, Four Daughters is going to be shown. Please, Please show the sequels Four Wives and Four Mothers.

  • My favorite!!! But where is Four Wives??

    • Melanie
    • 2/19/07

    I have seen 4 daughters and 4 mothers, but can't find 4 Wives ANYWHERE!!! It is driving me crazy! I can't find it on DVD or VHS and no matter how often I check back it is never scheduled to be shown. :( I would be so grateful if you would just give us.... ummmm.... one hour and... fifty minutes of your schedule. I'll be checking back. :) Please, please, please!!

  • Four Wives

    • Jessy
    • 1/8/07

    I simply loved four daughters, and I would love to see the sequels as well. These movies really show strong sibling love and a strong family connection. These are definitely feel good movies and I would recommend them to anyone.

  • Four Daughters/Wives/Mothers

    • Luci
    • 1/7/07

    I loved 4 daughters and would love to see the sequels, 4 wives and 4 mothers. Please schedule these for view on TCM.

  • Four Daughters/Wives/Mothers

    • Diane
    • 11/30/06

    Please, please, please show all three of these movies. I have only seen Four Daughters (3 times) and really would love to see the sequels. Also, I would love for them to be on video or DVD. How can we go about getting that done?

  • continue the sequels, four wives and four mothers

    • k mcghee
    • 10/8/06

    four daughters, four wives and four mothers are the best of Fanny Hurst. The sisterly love and story lines make you want to be closer to your own siblings.

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.