skip navigation
I Confess

I Confess(1953)

Up
Down
share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

DVDs from TCM Shop

I Confess A priest suspected of murder... MORE > $10.95 Regularly $14.98 Buy Now blu-ray

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • one the three worst

    • don letta
    • 8/17/16

    I'm in a minority, relative to my fellow posters opinions. This, along with The Wrong Man (absurdly miscast) and Frenzy are in my opinion his triumvirate of poor films.I Confess has a great title... that's all. The cinematography renders a beautiful city flat and dull, The story line is tired, and flat and the performances are one-dimensional and flat. The ending is clearly meant to awaken the audience that hasn't already left the theater. Especially disappointing is Montgomery Cliff's emotionless rendering of a priest in crisis, although a more emotive performance wouldn't have saved this turkey.

  • underrated gem

    • larry
    • 8/16/16

    This is a beautiful film which captivated me. Typical Hitchcock twists and turns. Anne Baxter is a bit overdone, but Clift is perfect as a silent victim who can't betray his vows.

  • Spiritual Actor of Monster Talents

    • DON RILEY
    • 3/23/16

    This is vehicle for the talents of Montgomery Clift. Anne Baxter is also wonderful. The abilities of Clift are of spiritual proportions. He is so relaxed and seamless that one wonders if he is actually finite. no other film actor performs with so little ego, so effortlessly. This is brilliant film acting, unequaled. The film itself is good, its ok, but Clift is the star. Genius actor who's talents are fully on display here. Compare Clift to others and you'll see they are all sluggish, weighty and postured. Karl Malden is also good and helpful.

  • I Confess

    • Susanne
    • 10/24/14

    THe writing could have been more taut, perhaps with some explanation as to how Michael Logan arrived at becoming a priest, beyond service in war. The words of the two witnesses [school girls] was not as tight as one might expect, i.e. one said 11:00 the other said it was after 11:00, yet evidence seemed to show Vilette could not have died before 11:30, which was after the girls saw Keller. I recommend it. I never saw the greatness of Clift, as others have, though he was excellent in Red River. The sign of lapses, I would say, with respect to his addictions and personal demons.

  • A Very Personal Film

    • Henry Hoffman
    • 9/8/13

    Jeremy Arnold's article about I CONFESS is fatous: I'm sure that Hitchcock had difficulty w/ Montgomery Clift, who was an addict, who was high functioning. It's also a stunning performance that Hitchcock must have experienced in the editing room. Yeah, there was probably tension between Hitch & Rostova, but what the hell--look at the results. Then, too, Clift was a great actor; talent has to have some privileges, yes?The film may tanked on the altar of the populist (understandably since the film is way ahead of its time), because its aesthetic is highly evolved (Hitch was a revisionist in disguise as a spook artist). At the center of the debate is Logan's maintenance of his chastity and he is seeking to do it by not lying, but also living-out of truth of his vow. Hamlet makes the same promise to himself & to his Dad, but encounters the same dread that Logons has: Prince says to be an honest man is to be one man picked out of 10,000. (Dostoyevsky also wrote about purging his sense of being a liar even when he was supposed to be telling the truth & what's worse BELIEVING his own lies. But that also makes him an honest man because he KNOWS he's doing it!)Father Logan is a thinly veiled account of what the Catholics deem a saint. On this level (and I think Hitch may have overreacted, since, when the public punishes your art, the artist has to suck it up, i.e., second thoughts), it is a fairly amazing work-of-art.

  • Very Intriguing. Beautiful photography.

    • MURIEL
    • 8/28/13

    I found the ending tacked on and excessively and unnecesarily violent. otherwise, the film is very interesting and the plot twists may be too coincidental, but that's nothing new in movies.It's worth watching for the photography and the views of Montreal.

  • Rather Stupid....

    • Patrick
    • 5/1/13

    Mostly made up of idiotic stupid plots....

  • Highly Recommended

    • Muriel
    • 3/21/13

    Excellent performances from the entire cast. Very suspenseful. Beautiful photography.I think the violent ending was completely unnecessary, but the rest of the film is fantastic.

  • I Confess.....

    • Nandi Crawford
    • 7/19/11

    What a riveting movie! I was so glad that they didn't make Clift's character guilty, it would have been terrible.But I truly felt sorry for Anne Baxter's character and having to spill her guts and business so she can get Monty off to no avail. But my heart went out to the real killer's wife, who had told what happened but was killed before she could say anymore. You could tell throughout the movie that she wanted to confess the real deal but was honor bound by her husband.

  • The Sins of the Father.

    • Frank Harris Horn
    • 10/3/10

    Alfred Hitchcock goes on location in the French-Canadian province of Quebec along with Montgomery Clift, Anne Baxter, Karl Malden and Brian Aherne to shoot this dark, moody suspenseful mystery based on a play by Paul Anthelma. Clift is a young priest, who gets caught up in a murder investigation, and becomes the prime suspect after he hears the real murderer tells him in the church's confessional. A lesser Hitchcock movie, but nevertheless, is intriguing for it's stark photography and symbolism. Filmed on location in Quebec City, Quebec and along the St. Lawrence River in Canada. With O.E. Hasse, Roger Dann, Dolly Haas, Charles Andre, Henry Corden, Gilles Pelletier & Ovila Legare. Remade in 1995 as the French-Canadian movie, "Le Confessionnal".

  • Great Movie!

    • Laura J
    • 1/25/09

    Being a Montgomery Clift fan, I try to catch his movies when I can and this was one I never saw. What a great movie, Montgomery is at his usual best and the premise of the movie is also excellent.I didnt realize this was an Alfred Hitchkock film which is just anothe plus. Look for Alfred walking in the opening scene!A must see for any Montgomery CLift fan. An actor ahead of his time and taken away to soon.

  • I amm looking for Montgomery cliff films

    • Oregon
    • 5/14/06

    One of my favorite film stars is Montgomry Cliff. When will his moves be shown on TMC? I am looking for I confess. My hope is you have a day set aside and will play some of his best.Hope to see I confess this summer.

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.