skip navigation
The Killer Shrews

The Killer Shrews(1959)

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

DVDs from TCM Shop

The Killer Shrews A maniacal scientist creates a... MORE > $6.95 Regularly $8.99 Buy Now

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • wisdom in sack cloth and ashes

    • don letta
    • 1/17/19

    Grade Z attempt to illustrate the danger of overpopulation, using killer shrews as stand ins for humanity. Offering very little in talent... we're presented with a few dull characters hitting their marks and reciting dialog; the dullest being the Swedish dish being served to star, James Best. The truly best part is the escape on overturned oil drums. Well photographed and played, if the same attention had ben paid to the front of the film, it might have accomplished its initial intent... the dangers of overpopulation. That fact seen every day by looking to the middle east, Africa and south of the border. Folks with nothing to do but screw, screw... and the beat goes on.

  • Untamed Shrews

    • H.A.C.
    • 7/27/18

    The dogs made, up as giant shrews, were amazingly real looking and their constant attacks exhausted this viewer while watching nonstop efforts by the players to stave them off. The duck-walk under the oil drums was the most strenuous, last ditch attempt to escape being eaten alive. The final survivors surprised no one, however, which made for a smirky ending.

  • Ken Curtis was cool

    • Jeff Boston
    • 7/23/18

    Curtis, of John Wayne film fame, co-produced this big money maker made in Dallas (!?) and yet was willing to play the jerk who gets the tar thrashed out of him several times by the George Bush sound-a-like lead for a variety of reasons, usually involving their duel for the Doris Day look-a-like who (of course) screams when a hurricane blows open a shuttered window, but never does when she sees and is attacked more than once by giant, killer shrews (?!). The hand puppets and made up dogs actually make for an entertaining movie that made a 9-year-old who watched it with me crouch into the fetal position plenty of times with head buried in hands. There must have been a lot of terrified tykes 59 years ago. I love when the Captain concludes this corny comedy by telling the alarmist egghead doctor "I'm not going to worry about overpopulation just yet" (the overblown "overpopulation" hype sure made way too many way too anxious for way too long) and then precedes to very aggressively kiss the lips off of the doctor's daughter right in front of him.

  • An Underrated Classic

    • Anonomyous
    • 11/4/12

    The Killer Shrews is one of many instant classic sci-fi films from the classic era of the drive-in theater! It has great acting, a great setting, great music and great monsters. I also don't understand how people can hate movies like this one. A lot of films from this era don't get as much respect as they deserve. This actually builds up a lot more suspense than other movies made at the time. There's not really anything else to say other than it's a great movie.

  • A Film Ahead Of Its Time.

    • glasseye67
    • 6/16/11

    Along with "Fiend Without A Face", the Killer Shrews is one of the best party adventure movies way ahead of its time. A party adventure film is a film about a group of individuals thrust into a situation into which they have to use their wits to get out of. In this case they have to get off the island alive. And they have no dice to roll in this film. If you have never seen it I recommend. It is a fun time.

  • A great sci-fi classic of the 1950s!

    • Dan Barefoot
    • 1/9/08

    I was eight years old when I saw this movie at the theater in 1959. I very much enjoyed it then, and it remains one of my all-time favorite sci-fi movies. The plot and the acting are really not that bad for a movie made on a tight budget.

  • B movie classic

    • Ben
    • 4/21/07

    I like this film.Its typical B movie stuff and usually gets a "one star" rating on television,but its still pretty entertaining.Even the "shrews" look pretty nasty.Acting and script are predictably subpar,but still watchable.Only real complaint I have is that the movie isnt long enough,only about 70 minutes.I also love James Best,you will remember him as a staple in many westerns and TV shows in the 50s and 60s,also as Roscoe P Coltrane in "dukes of hazzard".Also appearing is Ken Curtis of "gunsmoke" fame.

  • Grate Movie

    • Robert Malagoli
    • 2/24/07

    I have just seen this film and I loved it. I have to say that the story line is not the best but it is worth the time to see.

  • outstanding old movie

    • deborah upton
    • 7/26/06

    i saw this movie over 30 years ago. my friends and i saw this movie at the show. this movie can be enjoyed by thoes who are old movie buffs. i love this old movie.

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.