skip navigation
Little Fugitive

Little Fugitive(1953)

Up
Down

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

DVDs from TCM Shop

Little Fugitive Fearing he has killed his... MORE > $17.95 Regularly $24.95 Buy Now blu-ray

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • little fugitive

    • kevin sellers
    • 2/21/17

    You can always count on the Academy to get it wrong. This nice, little film was nominated for best story when clearly story...or the absence thereof...is the weakest element of the whole freakin movie! Put simply, not much of interest happens to little Richie once he exits the subway in Coney Island. Everyone is nice, or at least decent, to the little tyke. There is no image or occurrence that even approaches the level of disturbing, let alone harrowing, and eventually his selfish big brother finds him and that's that. So much for story. Where the interest in this film resides is in the wonderful performances of kid actors Richie Andrusko and Richard Brewster, for which the three directors, Ray Ashley, Morris Engel, and Ruth Orkin, deserve credit, as well as Engel's poetic camera which captures such transcendent imagery as Coney Island's turning from twilight to darkness and the beauty of a sudden summer downpour in the big city. You definitely feel transported back to Brooklyn BDL (Before the Dodgers left). So let's give it a solid B that would have been slightly higher were it not for the relentless harmonica score that is cute for about five minutes and then gets on your nerves and stays there. P.S. Clichae may have changed to Lawrence Welk but the same annoying habit of using his or her review for gratuitous slams on post WW2 youth remain. I mean, kids have been running away from home since well before the 50s, Larry, so I fail to see how this movie "ties in" with the me generation.

  • The Inner Fugitive

    • Lawrence Welk
    • 2/15/17

    This movie is simple in story, impressive of childhood physical & mental prowess, & dreamily filmed! The crowd played their part well: they gave the sense that they all knew what they were doing & where they belonged! Yes, the boomer generation had the ideal juvenile years: free of enforced parental paranoia & the recipient of early commerciialization, mass indoctrination, & eventual manipulation- to this day!

  • The Fabulous Fifties

    • Jeff Boston
    • 1/13/16

    A nice slice of Americana, with pie about the only thing Joey didn't eat at Coney Island. What a fun family film. My whole family loved it, especially the kids, and it shows them what typical urban life used to be in such an effective way. We have slowly-but-surely progressed materialistically, while slowly-but-surely regressed spiritually. We can turn things around, especially when inspired by such uplifting films as this one, which inspired the French New Wave and its collection of trash that comprise a mindset directly counter to that of "Little Fugitive."

  • A Perfect Time Capsule

    • Andy Moursund
    • 2/6/13

    I was born in Manhattan in 1944, and this movie jogs so many memories from the early 50's it's hard to know where to begin. The fascination that every young boy had with horses and six shooters; the clothes hanging out on the lines in the days before universal clothes dryers; the flickering black and white TV; the totally unbranded T-shirts and cuffed jeans; the casual way that kids Joey's and Lennie's age used to run around the streets and vacant lots completely unsupervised; the love of Coney Island and cheap amusement parks in general; the chalk designs on the city sidewalks; and most of all, the entrepreneurship of what we used to call (cough, cough), "BOTTLE COLLECTING", which in Washington was a daily ritual of "collecting" bottles from people's unlocked back porches, at a rate of 2 cents a bottle in an era when the drinks themselves were only a nickel. There are hundreds of movies that are set in New York City, but I can't think of a single one that evokes the REAL New York of its time better than "The Little Fugitive". I just rented this from Netflix, and I hope it'll soon come around again to TCM, perhaps in place of the 500th showing of "Splendor in the Grass" or "Singing in the Rain".

  • lenny

    • katie
    • 7/29/12

    love this movie and think tht lenny is HOT back then idk now

  • Little Fugitive (1953)

    • James Higgins
    • 1/3/10

    This shows how you can make a very effective film on a miniscule budget. It's sweet and simple, very believably done and presented. The acting by the unprofessional cast is very natural and convincing. Great score that enhances the film.

  • Great Little Charmer

    • Bruce Reber
    • 4/9/09

    "Little Fugitive" is truly one of the most entertaining films I have ever seen.I first saw it on another movie channel about 12 years ago, and I had seen it only one other time before last night 4/8/09 on TCM. It has no big stars, fancy production or music score, but it is a charming little film all the same. Morris Engel made "Little Fugitive" on a very low budget using amateur actors and filming on location in Brooklyn and Coney Island with a hand-held camera. In fact this is the only one of Engel's films that I have seen. TCM host Robert Osborne gave me a little insight into this independent filmmaker whom I had not known much about. Engel didn't want to make the kind of mainstream films that Hollywood was turning out in the 50's, and "Little Fugitive" is in my opinion one of the best independent films ever made. I was born and raised in the Washington, DC area and this film showed me what the sights and sounds of Brooklyn and Coney Island were like in the early 50's. This one reason why I love TCM, showing films like "Little Fugitive" that can't be seen anywhere else.

  • The Little Fugitive 1953

    • Patrick Raffaelo
    • 3/27/08

    A great movie and interesting because ofthe memories it brought back to me. Ilived and went to Coney Island many times in Brooklyn,NY during the 50's.All Brooklyn people should see it!

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.