skip navigation
Our Town

Our Town(1940)

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • Splendid Music Score

    • JJ
    • 5/10/19

    One of the finest music scores in a Hollywood film you will ever hear. Copland's Oscar Nominated score ( one of 17 scores nominated, awarded to Pinocchio).

  • love of family

    • nancy
    • 5/3/19

    i just saw the movie for the First time, in (2019) and i couldn't turn it off. I loved the pace of the film and the looking back, and the photography. Also the simple love and family life. And marriage. Personally think we need these values today, marriage, God, love, respect. would watch this again. and william holden so young. sweet story. glad she lived!!

  • Who Could Not Love "Our Town"

    • Melissa
    • 4/2/18

    The mere simplicity of this play, makes it timeless. I read the book Our Town, when I was a sophomore in high school, 42 years ago. It was a favorite of mine then and still is! When life for me gets hectic, and I need to slow down, the words of Emily, remind me that I am not really appreciating life while I am living it. That's when I force myself to stop, close my eyes, take in a really deep breath, exhale slowly, open my eyes and just take in what is around me. I want to, feel it all, be apart of it all, and most of all, I want to treasure it all! Thank you, Our Town, for teaching me that!!!

  • stranger in town.

    • a.morris
    • 1/22/18

    reminds me of a tame version of the stepford wives for some reason. a strange..creepy effect.

    • 1/5/18

  • very fine film

    • Jack
    • 4/17/15

    Martha Scott was such a fine actress and enriched all of her films by her presence.

  • Ageless Story

    • George Kurek
    • 9/6/14

    As a high school English teacher I taught this play to at least four classes a year for thirty nine years.Its universal message that humans don't appreciate daily existence because it is filled with routines, local and cosmological transcends time, race, or ideology, making it a source of unending delight for me to see students grow in their appreciation of the story, its message, and the myriad techniques Thornton Wilder employed to convey his view of life.I am so glad that this version has been remastered, giving the film the clarity it deserves.Thanks, TCM.

  • Is this as good as the critics think?

    • denscul
    • 9/2/14

    I was a cast member in the play while in college. I think I change my mind about becoming an actor or writer, because having rehearsals a number of times, I never could understand the critic reviews. This always seemed to be one of those efforts we were told to like, and write favorable things. I remember the audience. They seemed to be waiting for it to end, and go on to what college age kids favor.

  • Our Town (1940)

    • stereojack
    • 5/24/14

    People have singled out William Holden, but to me the outstanding performance is by the underrated Martha Scott. Many have criticized Hollywood's decision to add the happy ending which was not in the original play, but the power of the third act remains undiminished.

  • Unforgettable

    • Sheila
    • 5/1/14

    I learned of this movie in High School. My Language teacher had the class to act out this play in our classroom. I was Emily. I will never forget this play. It is heartwarming.

  • It Could Be "Our Town" or Yours!

    • wildwomynwriter
    • 5/1/12

    "Doesn't anyone ever really appreciate life while they live it?" Emily is right we all rush and hurry through our days and one day it's over and we don't even know when or how we got here. I read this play in high school and have loved the movie. There have been remakes later on, but the one with William Holden (as a young boy) is the best. This and "The Enchanted Cottage" are my favorite movies. The original play ends differently. I like the movie better, but the book really makes you think. Slow down, stop and smell the roses, really look at each other and say what you're feeling.

  • Our Town

    • Alexandra (Alex)
    • 11/12/10

    I have to agree with Karen. This is one of the most heartwarming films ever. I love it as much as A Tree Grows In Brooklyn.

  • Love this film!

    • Karen
    • 5/1/10

    I first saw this film when I was about 12-13 years old and have loved it ever since. The ending differs from the play (the director changed it with the permission of Thorton Wilder). I think the film's ending is much more satisfying, being far less pessimistic than the play. The characters in the film display a great deal of warmth and humanity in their acting and the finest character actors of the time are in it. The music score by Aaron Copland certainly adds even more luster to this film. A great piece of film Americana at its best. I really wish some organization would restore this film because this is a jewel.

  • What a wonderful picture.

    • josu nogueira
    • 6/30/06

    Our town is a beautifully-well narrated story about the life in an american little town,in the 1900s.The original play is based on a Thornton Wilder story.The lifes of two families,their days,their first loves...all in a magical atmosphere,wonderful photography,and very good caracter interpretations,of william holden,first of all,and the rest of the cast too.

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.