skip navigation
State Fair

State Fair(1945)

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • state fair from 1945

    • Roberta
    • 8/6/17

    This is excellent movie you need to broadcast it asap

  • Truly enjoyable

    • Jack
    • 2/14/15

    A fine movie although its high point is early on with that wonderful song, "It Might as well be Spring". The girl singing it for Jeanne Craine has the perfect voice for it. Has there ever been a prettier girl in film than Jeanne? I don't think so.

  • It Should have been 5 Stars

    • bella
    • 3/7/14

    For me their is two reasons why I cannot go 5 stars and it is sad, Dick Haymes was a miscast 'farmer'. The other reason was Rene' Hubert , costume designer. First, some say (and I do somewhat believe this ) that Haymes got the part because so many actors were gone serving our country during WW2, and so the acting pool was somewhat limited, but Dick Haymes went to a Fair not only dressed in a suit but a very expensive suit and he had more than enough for the 3 days they were there. Also, he acted much to formal for a farmer, let alone a farmer's son, who said that's who he was and it would stay that way. It was unbelievable and I can only be thankful that Rodgers and Hammerstein were so good at there jobs that I could ignore that, and a few other things.Also I do know in the 1940's puffy sleeves were quite the thing, but perhaps Jeanne Crain was a bit over-puffed, due to Hubert. I truly love the show and as I am from the Midwest I do know that we did and do get dressed up for the 'Fair' ..... just not that much, Margie was okay (lace and organza?) but Haymes began to act like he belonged in the $500.00 suits and that was worth a 1/4 of a star and another 1/4 for acting like he had seen the world, when in reality all he knew was a farm and a small town . This is a true review from my point of view, my question is why didn't the director tell him to pull it back, your acting to sophisticated ??? I know I am not the only one who saw this ??

  • Five Stars!

    • oldskool
    • 1/11/14

    Great songs and a very good cast. It's a great snapshot of USA in a simpler time. Not sure if it's technicolor but the quality is fantastic. 5 Stars! Definatlely enjoy it every time.

  • GORGEOUS MOVIE

    • el debbo
    • 5/23/11

    I love the music and the colors in State Fair. It's a beautiful profile of Midwestern, Mid-Century U.S. of A. Back when we weren't so homogenized: people from Iowa actually dressed the part! I indulge in this movie when I need to be cheered up, need to feel safe. It's a winner.

  • State Fair (1945)

    • Jay Higgins
    • 10/15/09

    This is a very sweet musical. The acting is very pleasant and well cast. Charles Winninger and Fay Bainter are particularly good. Very enjoyable and charming, good songs, great production as well.

  • Spectaular!!!

    • Polly
    • 2/13/08

    This movie is wonderful! A great cast, great songs and the film is made well also. I don't know why I had never seen this movie till now. It is great in ever way.

  • a slice of americana

    • mjk
    • 4/22/07

    it's a very enjoyable movie, that shows life that we all wish it could be. this is a great pickmeup when your not having a good day. a great cast.

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.