skip navigation
To Hell and Back

To Hell and Back(1955)

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

DVDs from TCM Shop

To Hell and Back Film star Audie Murphy plays... MORE > $11.21 Regularly $14.98 Buy Now

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • An Accomplished Life

    • David H.
    • 6/28/19

    To Hell and Back is a superior war film about Audie Murphy who became America's most decorated hero in World War II. Even though the screenplay and the book it's based on were written by others it is Murphy's presence portraying himself which gives this movie a considerable authenticity. The film goes from his deprived childhood during the depression to glimpses of his heroism during the war. One can look up Murphy's life on the Internet to get a full picture of his military service and later career as an actor for despite various issues and an early death, he lived an accomplished life.

  • "Gotta hit that farmhouse again, Murph"

    • Jeff Boston
    • 6/28/19

    And he and his men did, and they took it, in an excellent scene in this B picture that focuses on the incredible exploits of an A American hero. Thank you, TCM, for showing "To Hell And Back" at 8:00 last night. Like Sergeant York before him, Murphy grew up without much beyond a well-loved mother, a well-used firearm, and a well-adjusted attitude. All three served them well during the First and Second World Wars. It would be great if Hollywood would pay tribute to more real American heroes, instead of imaginary ones, or ones that are used to help further an agenda.

  • brava!

    • Kathleen P White
    • 6/27/19

    To Charlie! wonderful and humble testimony! May God bless all our faithful veterans and their precious families

  • The McCoy

    • SAVA
    • 6/27/19

    A better link for Murphy's Congressional Medal of Honor Citation: http://www.victoryinstitute.net/blogs/utb/1945/01/26/audie-l-murphy/. I hope this one works

  • Charlie, you are a hero to me

    • Jeff Boston
    • 6/19/19

    and to many, many millions of Americans alive today and yet to be born. God bless you.

  • Best Example of Heroism

    • Charlie McFarlan
    • 9/1/16

    As a youngster I saw this movie on television. The impression stayed with me. Shortly after turning 20 years old, and after having a number of friends and classmates go to Viet Nam, and a few did NOT return, I got mad and remembered Audie Murphy. That's why I joined. To carry on the tradition of those who went before in WWII, and Korea, the forgotten war! My country comes first. While I'm no hero, I did serve during Viet Nam and the cold war.I feel privileged to follow in the footsteps like those of Audi Murphy.

  • A Must See!

    • Marie
    • 3/9/08

    The movie is so unique for the fact Audie played himself! I don't know of that occurring with any war hero? I feel it should be aired more often and would welcome seeing it again and again. I watched it since I was little and have to say; my husband who retired from the US Air Force; had never heard of it.Now it is one of his all time favorite movies and he became a member of Audie Murphy;s fan club!

  • Unforgettable movie

    • Sergio Rodriguez
    • 6/5/07

    I watched this movie, when I was 7 year old, and by that time it was already an oldie.I never seen this movie again, but I remember it as it was just yesterday.I would like to watch it on TCM.

  • Truth is Always Better than Fiction.

    • patricia boyens
    • 5/31/06

    I have seen this movie many times, and am constantly in awe of this young, noble, and brave soldier who devotion to family and duty cannot be overstated. Excellent movie. I just wish it would have been longer and had included an account of his immediate return to America.

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.