skip navigation
Valentino

Valentino(1951)

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • valentino 1951

    • l k
    • 12/10/13

    Where can I get a dvd of the movie Valentino (1951)? I've looked at all the different movie dvd stores and on-line video shops and no one has a copy of a dvd.

  • Valentino (1951) -Walter Craig aka. Anthony Dexter

    • L.J.
    • 9/27/13

    Loved the movie and would like to purchase the first DVD of it's release. Outstanding casting personnel and all other personnel involved in the production and direction of the movie , congratulations for a job well done.

  • Not Historically Accurate But Worth Viewing

    • Natacha
    • 6/25/13

    This film got several things right and several wrong. To begin with, the story is not accurate. Valentino came to the US as an unknown 18 year old on the SS Cleveland. He would not become a professional dancer until a few years later. This film did nail his sensuality as a dancer, and Dexter's hair, profile, the slave bracelet and the wardrobe were spot on. He did have a fall out with his dance partner, but not over a relationship--he set up his partner, Joan Sawyer, to be a co-respondent in a divorce involving a married woman he had a relationship with, to help her get a divorce. He did achieve success by being cast in "Four Horsemen", but this was because of June Mathis, the first female studio executive, who saw his potential in "Eyes of Youth", in which RV had a bit part. RV did not romance June to get the part. There was a highly publicized dance sequence at a party, but he was an invited guest of Marian Davies, and his partner was Pola Negri, and they were both in costume. His leading lady for "The Shiek" was Agnes Ayres, and he was never linked romantically with her. Because she liked him so much she agreed, as a favor, to appear in the sequel, made up as an older woman--unheard of at the time for a young actress. In "The Sheik", the female lead hates RV's character until he almost dies trying to save her. A serious error was portraying RV as not wanting marriage. He is quoted as saying his dream was to have his wife meet him at the door every evening, with his children. He did have a manager, but George Ullmann was an attorney and didn't live with RV or manage his appointments or daily affairs. RV died of a perforated ulcer due to stress, not caused or contributed to by fighting. He did experience homelessness and did work in a restaurant shortly after he came to the US. He learned the tango and was a male taxi dancer at Maxim's. He never referred to himself as a gigolo--this was an insult others hurled at him, starting with Nazimova.

  • I have been looking for this movie.

    • Marianne Duvo
    • 6/25/13

    When I was a young girl my mom took me to see this movie. I always remembered it and wanted to see it again. I enjoyed watching it on TCM and wish I could get the movie to watch again. I know it is not true to life but it is haunting and the acting is very good! I would love to know if it will ever be released so we could buy it.

  • Valentino 1951 with Anthony Dexter

    • Joyce Springer
    • 6/17/11

    I loved the movie even though in some parts it didn't do justice to the real Valentino.I would love to see it put on DVD as I would love to buy it. I saw the movie on Turner Classic moviesJune 17, 2011. I watched it again. When are you going to put this movie on DVD? I'm not getting any younger you know!Joyce R. Springer

  • Valentino 1951 with Anthony Dexter

    • Joyce Springer
    • 6/17/11

    I loved the movie even though in some parts it didn't do justice to the real Valentino.I would love to see it put on DVD as I would love to buy it. I saw the movie on Turner Classic moviesJune 17, 2011. I watched it again. When are you going to put this movie on DVD? I'm not getting younger you know!Joyce R. Springer

  • A Good Movie

    • Barcal
    • 6/17/11

    Many thanks for the films you show.It is uncanny how much Dexter looked like Valentino.It was enjoyable,too bad he wasn't around for more years,both Rudy and Mr Dexter,how handsome!

  • Anthony Dexter was a remarkable Valentino

    • mary jo
    • 6/17/11

    Just like Elyse, I saw this movie in the 50's when I was 13 and saw it seven more times. My aunt had been thoroughly smitten by Valentino during his life and I can see why. Even if the story is not accurate, the music, the dancing and Anthony Dexter made up for it.

  • DVD RELEASE FOR VALENTINO

    • dave
    • 6/11/11

    I would also Love to see this come out on dvd . I have been unable to locate a copy of it . I wish mgm would release it to dvd .I also would buy it .

  • "Anthony Dexter Fan Site!"

    • Anthony Dexter Fan
    • 8/20/10

    This is for everyone who loved Anthony Dexter (movies) and (who had the honor to know him in person) and is a fan ... to please come and visit the "Anthony Dexter Fan Site" and sign the Guestbook!!! http://www.myspace.com/anthonydexterfans

  • Dexter Channels Valentino

    • Dick McInnes
    • 10/1/09

    OK, so it wasn't the best movie bio ever but Anthony Dexter so captured the essence of Rudolph Valentino that it made it easy to understand why Rudy was THE sex symbol of his era. What some people call a lack lustre performance, I see as the epitomy of "cool", laid back and smoldering. Better that than overdone and hammed up!!! As for the story, totally made up but the great Eleanor Parker can and always will be forgiven anything and Pat Medina was fun. Let's not forget those tangos and that music plus the sets and costumes.

  • Hollywood's biggest mistake

    • Joyce Hockeborne
    • 7/14/08

    The multi talented, drop dead handsome , Anthony Dexter, should have been one of Hollywood's leading men. After 57 years, many of us still struggle to locate his work.So comparible to the late Rudolph Valentino that only their sexual preferrances seperate them. Bravo Anthony Dexter. Your fans will never give up.

  • An Idealilzed Valentino

    • Robert W. Bernard
    • 3/28/08

    ) received low marks from the critics at the time of its release principally due to Anthony Dexter's lack luster performance, it is an acceptable vehicle about the Great Lover if one can accept the idealized portrait we have here which falls far short of the reality. He is portrayed as being in love with love more often than really being in love until the right woman comes along but it is too late. She is married to a producer. That Valentino was catnip for women,a tremendous tango dancer and constantly preyed upon by unscrupulous gossip reporters is accurately depicted. What is missing is his conflicted sex life and frequent forays into homosexuality with such contemporary screen idols of the 20's as Ramon Novarro, but such truth was totally impossible in a 1951 Hollywood production and what we are left with is a pastel and sanitized rendition of the Great Lover's life.

  • What's wrong with the truth

    • E.L. Stewart
    • 3/27/08

    From all I have heard about the real Valentino. Was'nt his really life story and loves more than enough? Why did Hollywood have to make up a story for the 1st movie about him. Why could'nt they tell the truth? As for the Lady in Black I have heard all kinds of stories about her. The one I like the most is the one I heard told in the Hollywood Tour segment TCM did. The Lady being a little girl he had visited in the hospital. What is that saying when the " Legend become bigger than the truth tell the Legend". Is that what has happened with Valentino.He is one of the few silent screen stars I watch. I believe he would have been a wonderful actor if Hollywood and Life would have given him the chance. As for the movie what I did see it was alright the gentlemen who played him had a little of that magic but, there is only one Rudolph Valentino.

  • Please release on DVD!

    • Alicia
    • 12/4/07

    Biography, loosly based on the life ofsilent screen star, Rudolph Valentino. Anthony Dexter, in the title role, is not bad, (mainly because of his fine dancing), the rest of the cast is really quite good. Eleanor Parker, as Rudy's love interest, is beautiful and convincing in her part. The same for Patricia Medina. The dance she does withAnthony Dexter, in gaucho attire, is a highlight in the movie and very well choreographed. I have a terrible copy of this movie on video, which has tracking problems now and can no longer be viewed. I keep trying to find it on DVD and am hopeful that TCM can do something about that.

  • Show again or make DVD

    • Elyse tibbit
    • 10/16/07

    I saw this movie for the first time when I was thirteen yrs old.(in 1951).Since, I Have seen it approx. 14 times,(mostly in the 50's), once in 1981 on TCM, and now Oct. 9th on TCM. If it ever comes out on DVD, I'll be the first to buy it.Elyse

  • A great movie.

    • kitty
    • 10/16/07

    I recently saw this movie during my "late at night being awake" episodes and was blown away by the remarkeble dancingscene (tango) the costuming and the story. I loved the movie and hope that it will be shown again. Also I would like to see it be made available for purchase.

  • Amazing Resemblance

    • AL
    • 9/28/07

    This film has never been shown ANYWHERE for approx 25 years! It is grossly, hillariously inacurate, but is well-worth seeing--if for no other reason than to see the astonishing resemblance of Anthony Dexter to Valentino. Check it out!

  • A Worthwhile look at the silent movie business.

    • Joyce Spark
    • 7/23/07

    Although this is a relatively fictional account of Valentino's life, it is a very enjoyable movie. Anthony Dexter is a remarkable look-a-like to the real actor and stole my heart 50 years ago. The tango scene alone with Patricia Medina is worth watching the movie. A good piece of music, "The Valentino Tango" is featured and Eleanor Parker's costumes are gorgeous.

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.