skip navigation
Governors Awards
Remind Me

Governors Awards - 1/28

Awards season has begun, and on January 28 TCM will salute last year's winners of the 2018 Governors Awards, with a showing of four representative films.

Having celebrated its 10th anniversary, the Governors Awards are three separate honors presented by the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences to individuals noted for their Lifetime Achievement in the film industry. The three awards include: the Academy Honorary Award, the Jean Hersholt Humanitarian Award and the Irving G. Thalberg Memorial Award.

Winners of the 2018 Academy Honorary Award include actress Cicely Tyson, honored on TCM with her sensitive, Oscar-nominated performance in Sounder (1972) as the mother in a family of impoverished sharecroppers in Depression-era Louisiana. Composer Lalo Schifrin is represented by the Steve McQueen thriller Bullitt (1968), for which Schifrin created the original, jazz-inspired score.

With last year's award, Marvin Levy became the first publicist ever to win an honorary Oscar. He is represented on TCM for his work on the domestic drama Kramer vs. Kramer (1979); other films he has publicized include E.T. The Extra-Terrestrial (1982) and Gladiator (2000). Husband-and-wife producers Frank Marshall and Kathleen Kennedy received the 2018 Irving G. Thalberg Memorial Award "for consistently high quality of motion picture production." Represented on TCM by the horror classic Poltergeist (1982), the pair formed Amblin Entertainment with Steven Spielberg, and Kennedy later became president of Lucasfilm.

Also Playing on TCM

Also playing
TCM Birthday Tribute: Shirley Temple - 4/23 (Daytime)
8 Movies

The world-famous child actress was America's top box-office draw from 1935-1938 and appeared in several prestigious features as a...more

TCM Shopping
  • Kramer Vs. Kramer
  • Dustin Hoffman, Meryl Streep, Justin Henry,... more info
  • $7.46
  • Regularly $9.99
  • Add to cart
  • Poltergeist
  • A family's ordinary tract home suddenly... more info
  • $8.95
  • Regularly $12.98
  • Add to cart